ARC Review: Fire Children by Lauren M. Roy

Fire Children by Lauren M. Roy
Publish Date: June 30, 2015 by Rebellion
272 pages 
Source/Edition: Copy provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review, eBook (Kindle)
Summary provided by Goodreads: 

Two children escape the darkness of their underground dwellings, to find adventure, magic and terrible danger await anyone who ventures above ground.

Fifteen years have passed since Mother Sun last sent her children to walk the world. When the eclipse comes, the people retreat to the caverns beneath the Kaladim, passing the days in total darkness while the Fire Children explore their world. It’s death to even look upon them, the stories say.

Despite the warnings, Yulla gives in to her curiosity and ventures to the surface. There she witnesses the Witch Women — who rumors say worship dead Father Sea, rather than Mother Sun — capturing one of the Children and hauling her away. Yulla isn’t the only one who saw the kidnapping; Ember, the last of the Fire Children, reveals himself to Yulla and implores her to help.

Trapped up above and hunted by the witches and the desert wind, Yulla and Ember must find a way free his siblings and put a stop to the Witch Womens’ plans, before they can use the Fire Children to bind Mother Sun herself.

My Review: 

2stars

I hate giving low ratings to books, much more so books that have yet to be released. In all honesty, I think that the idea of the book, the overall plot was interesting and totally different but the execution wasn’t all there. The writing wasn’t effective for me. There was a lot of detail and not that much dialogue. While the world building was great, the writing fell flat for me. I started it once before and it didn’t quite grasp my attention. I thought that it was just that time but when I started it up again, I felt the same way. It all very anticlimactic. I was just waiting for something to happen already. When something did happen and we finally get to read about the Fire Children and meet one of them, it started to pick up. Not by much but at least something was happening.

Another problem that I did run across this book was that I couldn’t connect with the main character, Yulla. She was kind of bland at first but you grow to respect her character. She grows stronger and more courageous as the book progresses. She was born the last time the Fire Children descended upon Kaladim. I thought that something was going to happen with that and that there was a reason for it — some kind of foreshadowing. (Maybe that she was the one to meet Ember?) I actually liked Ember. He was so cute. Through him, we get to know more about Mother Sun, Sister Moon, Father Sea, and Mother Wind. He was great for world building.

The antagonists were great — that I did enjoy. They were despicable and I wanted nothing more than their ends. The plot was good, too. I liked where the story headed and Ember and Yulla’s relationship. However, it wasn’t able to overshadow what I didn’t like in the book. I enjoyed the ending. I thought that it was great. I don’t know if there’s a sequel or anything like that but the ending felt really solid. I liked the decisions that were made and I can’t really say more without revealing anything.

Final Thoughts:

Fire Children wasn’t for me but that doesn’t mean it’s not for you. It’s worth a try. It really had an interesting concept. It will be published this coming Tuesday, June 30, 2015. Pre-order a copy of it on Amazon or Barnes and Noble or pick up a copy when it is released.

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ARC Review: Fire Children by Lauren M. Roy

  1. Pingback: Today’s #(f)mcm: Rhysand & June Monthly Review | Love thy Shelf

What's on Your Mind?

