The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

sisterhood

sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award11Award Details:

Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award is an award that recognises the unique voices of women (and men?!) across the world and I feel quite overwhelmed at having been nominated for it. Thank you Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts for nominating me! You’re the best! Sorry I only got to this now haha.

These are the five rules to follow:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.
  2. Put the Award logo on your blog.
  3. Answer the ten questions sent to you.
  4. Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.
  5. Nominate ten blogs.
Questions:
1) Is there any author or book that you collect and will always welcome multiple editions of the same title?

Yes! I have multiple copies of The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare, Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas, and Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan. I haven’t started on it yet, but I’m planning on getting more copies of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han and Cinder by Marissa Meyer

2) Say that you find yourself judging a book by its cover (not that we ever do that!); what sort of covers do you go for? Are there any that are an absolute turn off?

Anything I find pleasing to the eye. Yeah, not specific at all lol. But I’ve gotten books for their color, especially the bright blue/green turquoise colors or salmon/pink colors. I’d also get books with a lot of different colors. I don’t like those book covers that usually grace romance novels, with the half-dressed man and a woman that’s draped over him. No thanks.

3) Is there any book to movie adaptation that you simply refuse to watch? No way, no how, you’re not even giving them the opportunity to mess it up?

I’m game when it comes to movie adaptations. I’ll watch anything and I try not to be too critical and have high expectations.

4) What is the most unusual book you’ve ever read? (Plot, writing style, chapter layout, etc?)

I’d have to say Perfume by Patrick Suskind. I had to read it for high school. It was unusual to say the least. It’s a story of a murderer who was born without a scent, so he grows up wanting to have his own scent. So what does he do? He works at a perfume shop and kills women, takes their skin, and distills it to make a perfume out of it. I mean, can it be any more unusual? Yes. *spoilers ahead* There’s a massive orgy in the end during his trial and then he gets eaten alive. WTF?!

5) You get a $500 gift card for all things bookish – do you run to your nearest bookstore and spend like a fiend? Or do you create pro/con lists (à la Rory Gilmore) to make sure you get just the right & perfect & wonderful bookish things? Or are you eyeing a particularly expensive bookcase somewhere?

I would make a list of books that I absolutely need to get, save some for pre-orders/future books. As for bookish things, I’d get a couple of bookmarks (I love collecting them). I’ll probably need a new bookshelf, too. Oh! I’ve wanted these bookends! I would totally get them, they’re The Hobbit themed bookends, where one side, Bilbo is looking through his door and the other side Gandalf is standing on the other side of the door. So pretty!

6) What book did you like that everyone hated?

I liked Allegiant (Divergent #3) by Veronica Roth. I didn’t love it love it, but I liked it. I thought that it was a justifiable ending and something that the characters would’ve done. I also really liked Requiem (Delirium #3) by Lauren Oliver. So much hate for that book because of Alex and I shouldn’t get into that now haha. Also because that ambiguous ending.

7) You can only take 3 things from your burning house, what things would you take?

After getting my family out of the burning house, if I can still go back to grab three things, I’d get (1) my laptop, (2) important documents, i.e passports, birth certificate, so on, and (3) nothing else really important that I can’t easily replace. I would be trying to throw all my books and anything else out of the window to save as many as I can haha.

8) If you could switch places with any fictional character, who would it be?

I was thinking Tessa from The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare because she has Will but then I wouldn’t want to be immortal and face the deaths of all my loved ones. So, I’ll settle for being Lara Jean from To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han because she gets Peter Kavinsky and she’s just a junior in high school. There’s so many things I’d love to change if I could go back to my junior year lol.

9) What book were you “forced” to read in high school but ended up loving?

A bunch! My program picked some pretty good books to read:

  • To Kill A Mockingbird by Lee Harper
  • City of the Beasts by Isabel Allende
  • Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier
  • Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger
  • Hamlet by William Shakespeare
  • A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams
  • The Crucible by Arthur Miller
  • A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen
  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  • Perfume by Patrick Suskind
  • Fiela’s Child by Dalene Mathee
  • The House of the Spirits by Isabelle Allende

Woah didn’t realize how many books they made us read in my program haha. These aren’t even all of them.

10) What made you cry like a baby?

A lot of things make me cry like a baby. I cry easy. If I ever see a guy crying, I end up crying. I cry when I see people visit cemeteries. I cry when a widowed father is left taking care of his daughters and he puts them above everything. I cry when people at my church get baptized. I cry when I read about heartbreaks and then cry when they’re reunited. I cry when a main character’s family member dies because then I think about my family and how I’d feel if it happened to me. I cried like a baby for days when my sister got married and moved out because I missed her so much. I cry when I think about Jesus. I’m a cry baby.

My Questions for my Nominees:
  1. What is your absolute number one favorite book ever? — I know, I know, really tough questions. If you have to, you can separate by genres
  2. If a book character can come to life and run for office, who would you want as President (King/Queen, Prime Minister, or whichever governing leader your country has) and why?
  3. Think of all the dystopian books you’ve read. Which dystopian world would you rather be a part of?
  4. Channeling Rick Riordan, who would be your godly parent? They could be Greek (Percy Jackson), Roman (Heroes of Olympus), Egyptian (Kane Chronicles), or Norse (Magnus Chase) and why?
  5. What is your biggest bookish pet peeve?
  6. Do you want a job/career in the book industry? What would you want to do?
  7. If you could already have a book that hasn’t been released yet, which would you pick?
  8. If you had to be a supernatural/fantasy being, what would you choose (witch, vampire, angel/nephilim/shadowhunter, werewolf, faerie, alien, grisha, pegasus (haha), demigod, mermaid, etc)?
  9. Why do you love reading?
  10. Recommend a book that isn’t popular and deserves a bigger following.
I nominate:

1. Veronica @ The Talking Bookworm
2. Olivia @ Fluttering Pages
3. Laura @ Laura’s Tea Time Reads/Once Upon a Bookshelf
4. Josephine @ Josie’s Book Corner
5. Melanie @ Reviews of a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile
6. Carolyn @ A Hundred Thousand Stories
7. Casey @ Inspired by the Pages
8. Becca @ Becca and Books
9. Ashley @ What’s She Reading?
10. Lauren @ Lauren Hearts Books

If you end up doing this, link me back or send me a link, I’d love to read your answers!!

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Awards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. Pingback: Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award – June 24, 2015 | Reviews of a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile

  2. Pingback: Today’s #(f)mcm: Rhysand & June Monthly Review | Love thy Shelf

  3. Casey says:

    Thanks so much for the tag! This seems like a lot of fun! And don’t feel bad about the crying thing because I’m the same. When I’m at school reading, I can’t stop the tears when they come and I don’t want to stop reading so I just cry and MY FRIENDS WON’T STOP TEASING ME ABOUT IT! And that Perfume books seems super weird but also weirdly intriguing? Like how would you even come up with that plot!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahhh! My sister teases me all the time for crying. She’s always joking and saying, “It’s just a book, don’t cry,” and I’m always saying “You don’t understand!”. That’s why I try not to read in public because I know I’ll cry haha. RIGHT?! That book was beyond weird. It was good because it was written in the murderer’s point of view but still really weird haha

      Liked by 1 person

      • Casey says:

        IKR?!?!? None of my friends are huge readers so when I cry because of a book they’re just like HAHAHAHA YOUR CRYING OVER A FICTIONAL CHARACTER! Ugh… muggles… and the murderers point of view? Huh, must’ve been a very interesting read!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Dang, I thought the Brotherhood thing would have caught on (even though I think did mention the possibility of changing it back to Sisterhood).

    I think “most” things that happened in Allegiant were justified. Except Uriah–UNFORGIVABLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE. (Now I will go cry now, thanks, Anjie).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol adding Brotherhood would’ve made for a really long title and so far, you’re the only guy I know in the book blogging community. Oops xD Sorry, I blocked that from my memory because I refuse to accept it lol

      Like

  5. I love your questions you came up with, Anjie! Thanks for nominating me, and I can’t wait to do this on my blog.
    I’ve read some horrible books for school, but yours seems to take the cake. I can’t believe they even let you read that.
    And it’s funny how you say that you cry at everything. Because I’m almost the opposite.
    I have multiple copies of Percy Jackson too. and The Hunger Game. and TFIOS. Maybe I should stop getting multiple copies – my shelf is already too full as it is.
    Also, we seem to have the same taste in book covers.
    Olivia @ Fluttering Pages

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Can’t wait to read your answers haha
      Yes it was a really weird book, awkward to read in class, too lol
      Haha I always tell myself to stop buying because I already have and read the book but it’s like my weakness or something

      Like

  6. Josephine says:

    You had to read a book about a murderer who takes women’s skin as perfume and an orgy? Your school allowed that? My goodness, that book sounds incredibly strange.
    I am the exact same with crying. I cry so easily, even when I laugh I cry!
    Thank you for nominating me, I really like your questions and am excited to answer them! 🙌

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

