Ten Fictional Men who have Ruined me for Actual Men

bookish

I didn’t do Top Ten Tuesday today so I decided to a random list of ten things, so I decided on The Ten Fictional Men who have Ruined me for Actual Men.This looks like it’s going to be fun! In almost every case, the fictional guys I meet in books are a lot better than the guys in real-life. Kind of sad, really, but also not surprising since I don’t meet that many guys haha. I’ll also just say that fictional guys are the reason I’m still single, probably not true but you know, just try to save face haha. Let’s move on! My list is sort of in order but that’s too hard to be for sure (except for number one, my number one is always him.)

Ten Fictional Men who have Ruined me for Actual Men

clockwork angel To all the boys i've loved before

1. Will Herondale (The Infernal Devices, Cassandra Clare): If you know me, you’re probably expecting this already. Bookworm, terrible poet, awfully loyal, witty, sarcastic, gorgeous, funny, loves with all his heart. I mean, it’s a recipe for my perfect guy. He’ll always be my number one because we have the same colored soul (mauve, har, har). Our souls are knit — okay, okay I’ll stop using TID references haha. I can fall asleep as we talk about the latest books we’ve read and he’ll read books to me and that is the dream.

2. Peter Kavinsky (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, Jenny Han): You’re probably sick of him on my blog but I’m not haha. What really attracts me to him is that he’s nothing special but he’s even more special. He’s not a prince or super human being or an alien or an angel (like everyone else on my list). He was just a normal guy, a sweetheart who plays lacrosse, hung out with his friends, was sweet to LJ’s little sister and family and that’s so valuable and precious. He is respectful, protective, funny, thoughtful. He was cute when he was jealous. To me, he’s probably the fictional character that I’d see in real life.

obsidian Throne of Glass

3. Daemon Black (Obsidian, Jennifer L. Armentrout): Well, he’s just the epitome of that dark and brooding character we seem to be attracted to. But he’s more than that. He’s powerful, protective, sexy, sarcastic, caring, and all around swoon-worthy. He can be very infuriating at times but he means well.

4. Dorian Havilliard (Throne of Glass, Sarah J. Maas): There’s so many great guys in this series but I only have eyes for Dorian. I’m biased because I love Princes, especially kinds like him: sweet, loyal, smooth-talking, gorgeous, cares for his people, wants to reverse the damage his dad made to the kingdom, and has a little magic 😉 Prayer circle for Dorian Havilliard in Queen of Shadows.

5. Nikolai Lantsov (Siege and Storm, Leigh Bardugo): Impossible? Improbable! He is probably the most cunning and wittiest character that I’ve ever met. He’s a magnificent leader and strategist. He’s optimistic and bright and funny. Great fighter, too. Loyal and loves his people. Hello! He’s Nikolai Lantsov, Sturmhond, Wolf of the Waves, Commander of the Volkvolny, Major of the Twenty-Second Regiment, Solider of the King’s Army, Grand Duke of Udova, and second son to His Most Royal Majesty, King Alexander the Third, Ruler of the Double Eagle Throne. Now that’s a title of respect.

6. Maxon Schreave (The Selection, Kiera Cass): Another prince, surprise, surprise. I love how utterly clueless he is about girls. I love how for him, there was only ever America. What was it that he said to America in The One? “Break my heart. Break it a thousand times if you like. It was only ever yours to break anyway.” Just leave me be, my heart hurts.

cinder Percy-Jackson-The-Lightning-Thief-Original-Cover

7. Prince Kai (Cinder, Marissa Meyer): Okay, last prince (no promises, though) haha. He’s another great leader, putting the lives of the people in the Eastern Commonwealth before him and his happiness. He’s cute and funny and his relationship with Cinder was so sweet. He kept her cyborg foot in his office *cries*!!

8. Percy Jackson (The Lightning Thief, Rick Riordan): He’s the cutest kid ever and if he wasn’t with Annabeth and I was his age, I’d totally go for it. He’s so loyal to his family and friends and intent on saving everyone! He’s so strong and powerful — who can make hurricanes from nowhere? His relationship with Annabeth is just perfect, when they were friends and when they’re a couple. He’s another clueless one about girls! He’s so silly, too. All of the things he thinks and says out loud. He’s a funny kid.

acotar angelfall

9. Tamlin (A Court of Thorns and Roses, Sarah J Maas): SJ is a wizard that conjures up perfect men. Tamlin’s the perfect combination of beast and gentleman. He’s cute and sexy. He’s funny and serious. He’s drop dead gorgeous. He loves his Spring Court and everyone in it. He’s loyal, too (see a pattern in my choices?)

10. Raffe (Angelfall, Susan Ee): He’s an angel. A literal angel with … erm.. wings on his back. He’s not just an angel, he’s a fighter, he’s an archangel, he’s one of the good guys. His body is the bomb dot com. His wit and sarcasm are on point. His loyalty to Penryn is so perfect. He matches with Penryn so well. They’re great fighters and witty and funny. I love their dynamic relationship and how they are with each other. Anyone remember the end of Angelfall when he thought he lost Penryn? 

Which fictional men (or women) ruined you for actual men (or women)? Do we have any in common? Ever feel like you hold actual men to a higher standard because of the ones you read in books?

xoxo

8 thoughts on “Ten Fictional Men who have Ruined me for Actual Men

  1. This is such a fun list! I didn’t end up doing the TTT topic for this week either since I’ve only been doing it for a couple months so picking my favourites was kind of impossible. I’m not sure who I would pick for this list… maybe Lord Maccon from Gail Carriger’s Soulless series because I’m a sucker for a big, hulking gentleman in a kilt. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this. Literally the reason in single is thanks to these irresistible and gorgeous and wonderful fictional men.
    Dorian, Maxon, Tamlin and Raffe. Oh my. They are wonderful fictional men. Dorian is so sweet and I do also love his smooth talk. Maxon melted my heart with his genuine kindness and oblivious nature towards girls! I have only read the first book but that excerpt from The One you just shared just made my heart tingle!
    There’s no words to explain Tamlin except that I agree with everything you said about him. And Raffe is so incredibly dreamy and I fell for him in about the first 30 percent of Angelfall. That moment when he thought Penryn was dead charged me with so many feels! I can’t even explain it! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Right? No man can compare to the ones in books! These guys are so perfect. Can I have all of them? Haha in this case I’d be okay with polygamy. I love Dorian and Maxon are more on the sweeter side and Tamlin and Raffe are on the rougher side but they’re all so equally dreamy. Maxon has some great lines in The One that will melt your heart haha. When Raffe fell and was holding her and saying I’m right here, I was crying so much ahhh!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. haha I love this topic.
    I was just thinking the other day about how possibly I will EVER find a guy because all of these fictional men have my standards and expectations so high, it’s ridiculous.
    And i’ll always just be thinking “our relationship will never be as great as Percabeth” *cries*
    But YES I agree with so many of your choices! That quote from Maxon ❤
    Olivia @ Fluttering Pages

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

