Review: P.S. I Still Love You (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #2) by Jenny Han

PS I still love youP.S. I Still Love You (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #2) by Jenny Han
Published: May 26, 2015
337 pages
Source/Edition: Gift from my mommy ^.^, Hardcover
Summary provided by Goodreads

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

My Review5starsclapping-gif-19

**Review may contain possible spoilers for this book**

Okay. I need to calm down a bit. I didn’t want to write this review. I’ve pushed it back; because if I do, if I write this review, it would mean that it’s truly over. That there will be no more Lara Jean Covey or Peter Kavinsky or Kitty and I couldn’t handle that. I’ve never read a contemporary book that made me cry when I turned the page and saw that there were no more chapters or one that made me want to read it again right after I closed the book. For that, I am forever grateful to Jenny Han for writing such an amazing duology —  which I hope and will be meeting with a crossroads demon for her to make into a trilogy for reasons.

Things feel like they’ll be forever, but they aren’t. Love can go away, or people can, without even meaning to. Nothing is guaranteed.

I don’t know where to begin. You can find my review of the first book here. After reading the first book, I knew that it was special because I saw so much of myself in Lara Jean. I knew that I would cherish these books forever and I think that has to do with Jenny Han’s great writing. Her writing brought about these characters, the plot, the story, and the letters. One of my favorite things about this book are the little life lessons intertwined in Lara Jean’s story. I love that we get to go on her journey and see her learn these lessons and then apply it in her life. I love the ease of the writing and the conversations. I love the little tidbits of Korean culture that we learn. I love the value of family and friendship coming out of this book. The Covey family is my favorite. I love Kitty and I love their dad and it still breaks my heart in this book that they’re growing up without their mom. I actually cried a lot because of that.

Sometimes I like you so much I can’t stand it. It fills up inside me, all the way to the brim, and I feel like I could overflow. I like you so much I don’t know what to do with it. My heart beats so fast when I know I’m going to see you again. And then, when you look at me the way you do, I feel like the luckiest girl in the world.

love Peter Kavinsky. Even more: I love, love, love Peter and Lara Jean’s relationship. They are so adorable! I love how both have two different paths and stories but fate got them together. I love looking back and thinking, if it weren’t Peter who found Lara Jean after her car accident in book one, who would Lara Jean be with? They get into the same arguments that they did in the first book, a lot about Genevieve. But I get it. I get both their sides. I understand why Lara Jean is so intimidated of her and why she’s constantly comparing herself to her and why she gets angry with Peter about it. Then, after finally learning more about Genevieve, I understand why Peter couldn’t just let her go. I admire him for that actually.

People come in and out of your life. For a time they are your world; they are everything. And then one day they’re not. There’s no telling how long you will have them near.

When I read the synopsis, I thought I’d hate John Ambrose but I didn’t. I like how he weaved himself in their lives again. I love that they wrote each other letters. I wish Peter wrote Lara Jean letters too but I know it’s not his thing. I love how laid back John Ambrose was and how similar he was to Lara Jean. The little love triangle — square if you include Genevieve — was really between “Opposites attract” and “Birds of a Feather Flock Together” and I liked that. I liked how Lara Jean sorted through it all and was very mature about it in the end. You could really see her growth. She’s got more control with driving, with boys, with her family situation, and her maturity was much improved.

Let’s go all in. No more contract. No more safety net. You can break my heart. Do whatever you want with it.

I really hope this isn’t the end. I hope that we get one more book to see Peter and Lara Jean really going all in. We get to see a glance of it in the beginning and my heart. I was swooning and all the feels and my heart couldn’t handle it. It was so fuh-reaking adorable!! I can talk on and on about how cute they were but that might bore you so I won’t. I ended this book thinking I want my own Peter Kavinsky. He’s so perfect in that imperfect way of his. And with the things he says like “Can we hug now?” after a fight or that Valentine’s Day gift or how he was afraid to disappoint Lara Jean. To me, that spells out S-W-O-O-N-W-O-R-T-H-Y. I even featured him in my #(f)mcm and you can read that here. Okay, okay, I’ll stop. Seriously, pick up a copy of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You.

xoxo

 

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Review: P.S. I Still Love You (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #2) by Jenny Han

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Books I’ve Read so Far in 2015 | Love thy Shelf

  2. Pingback: Today’s #(f)mcm: Rhysand & June Monthly Review | Love thy Shelf

  3. Great review!
    I could finally read it now that i’ve finished the series, I agree. There should be one more book of Lara Jean and Peter just being together and adorable. No arguments, no fighting, no John or Genevieve. Just them.
    Olivia @ Fluttering Pages

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Carolyn says:

    So glad you enjoyed this one so much!! I loved it a lot too, mostly because I felt like I was Lara Jean in terms of boys and letting friends go and being insecure in that way. I’m surprised I didn’t hate the love triangle too; I felt like it was really well-written and added a layer to Lara Jean’s character development.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

