Review: Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles #3.5) by Marissa Meyer

Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles #3.5) by Marissa Meyer
Published: January 27, 2015
272 pages 
Source/Edition: Bought at Book Depository, Paperback
Summary provided by Goodreads: 

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.

Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series.

My (Gif-Filled) Review: 

5stars

angry

I’m going to be honest here. I originally didn’t know what to rate this. I was even thinking of just reviewing it without rating it — ridiculous, I know! My thought process was this: “How can I give 5 stars to a book that angered me so much?!? But it doesn’t deserve a 1-star rating!” So I decided to sleep on it and really think about it. In the end, I went with 5 stars and I’ll explain.

disturbed disturbed

First things first, this book is disturbing beyond disturbing. Going into this book, I thought that we’d see why Levana was the way she was and that there would be legitimate grounds for the way she treated people. We do see why she is the way she is but in the end I was screaming “I DON’T CARE!” Levana has a way of pitying her but then not caring about what happened to her and wishing that she would just die already. This lady is on the extreme end of the insane, sociopathic, and psychologically disturbing spectrum.

bothered

There are no words to describe the extent of my hatred for Levana. I couldn’t even find any redeeming qualities for her. She’s selfish, deceitful, jealous, arrogant, repulsive, murderous, and in every way just ugly. I thought at first the maybe there was something about her that was good but as the plot continued to thicken, that thought disappeared and I was just angry. There is absolutely no reason to act the way that she did. I know that her past was depressing and how her parents and sister treated her were unfair but that’s not an excuse. You live above that.

Anyway, now to the details. The writing was as exquisite as the other books. Marissa Meyer is a genius. I don’t know how she ties everyone’s story up so neatly. Along with that, it amazes me how the same author can write about the innocence and simplicity of characters like Cinder and Cress but then bring about such disturbing characters like Levana and Channary. Channary was other despicable characters but not to Levana’s extent. She was the lesser of the two evils. It kind of made me hate Lunars, too — but we mostly saw the actions of the royals and those higher up in the hierarchy.  While I was angry at every single page of this book, I couldn’t help but keep reading. It was so interesting to finally get into her head. However, I would never want to be back there again.

angry

That was pretty much me with the ending and who loves Scrubs? Dr. Cox is my favorite! When I closed the book, I thought, “This b*tch better burn.”

Last thing: you should read the books in the order they are published. Fairest definitely will spoil some parts of Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress — nothing big but if you’re a stickler for spoilers!

xoxo

6 thoughts on “Review: Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles #3.5) by Marissa Meyer

  1. Pingback: Today’s #(f)mcm: Rhysand & June Monthly Review | Love thy Shelf

  2. Pingback: Review: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer | Love thy Shelf

What's on Your Mind?

