Bookish Ramblings: Ten Best Book-to-Movie Adaptations

bookish

Piggybacking on yesterday’s Top Ten Tuesday topic (Top Ten Books I’d Love to see as a Movie or TV Show), I wanted to talk about ten of my favorite Book-to-Movie Adaptations! Over the years, there have been more and more movie adaptations coming to the screen. From Harry Potter to The Hunger Games to The Fault In Our Stars, the YA literature genre has become a pool for film scripts and ideas. Not that I’m complaining — not fully complaining that is.

There are always pros and cons to having your beloved books become films. It’s great that they’re finally getting the much deserved spotlight but sometimes that comes at a price. It could be adapted very poorly, adding, deleting important scenes, changing the plot, and even changing the personality of a character that makes them lovable to us. It’s also great to finally see a book come to light; to see your fictional boyfriend or heroine in real-life, on the big screen. But, of course, they never quite live up to the expectations that your imagination creates up.

In some instances, movie adaptations are make-it-or-break-it for me. I have no idea why but if I don’t like a film, it can sometimes affect how I feel about the book. For example, I did not like the Twilight films or the Divergent films and because of that, I don’t love the books as much anymore — especially Twilight. Some movies were better adapted than others and I’m here to share with you the ones I thought were great!

Ten Best Book-to-Movie Adaptation 
harry potter

1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling: You had to expect this. It’s probably one of the best adaptations. It’s not perfect but it’s pretty close. I love how close they stuck to the age. It was gutsy, since there’s so many regulations about minors and hours and all.

hunger games

2. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: This is another “really close” adaptation. My favorite so far has been Catching Fire. I am really looking forward to Mockingjay Part 2. I adore the casting! Jennifer Lawrence is an absolute gem! This cast was not what I originally picture but with the acting, I actually forgot what I originally imagined.

hobbit

3. The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien: One word. Amazing. This trilogy was absolutely fantastic. I love all the detail that it got into splitting one book into three films. I even love the addition of the love interest between Kili and Tauriel. I loved this trilogy more than LoTR!

lord of the rings

4. Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien: I feel like I can’t have one without the other. Viggo Mortensen was on point (as were the rest of the cast). I can watch these movies over and over again — and I have! Because of the technology back then, the graphics and CGI are not as visually appealing than The Hobbit but still amazing for the time that it was released.

the host

5. The Host by Stephenie Meyer: Okay, I’m very biased to this. I loved the book, way more than the Twilight series. I also believe that in comparison, this movie was far better than any of the Twilight films. I am biased because Max Irons is one of my favorite actors and I got to meet him and Jake Abel (still one of the best days of my life). It’s definitely not perfect, it lacked finesse. It rushed on so many parts that it didn’t seem as plausible. I foresaw this because how could you fit a 500-600 page book with such complexity into a 2 hour movie?

if i stay

6. If I Stay by Gayle Forman: I really enjoyed this movie. I love the artistic feel to it, if that makes any sense. I think it stayed true to the book more or less. I cried all the way through, especially the ending with her grandfather. Oh my. Chloë Moretz was a great Mia, in my opinion.

maze runner

7. The Maze Runner by James Dashner: To be honest, I couldn’t remember much about the book when I finally watched this movie. That aside, from what I remembered, the main points were there haha and I honestly did enjoy the movie. I especially loved Dylan O’ Brien as Thomas *hello, cutie*!

book thief

8. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: This lived up to my expectations. My main worry was how it was going to be executed since Death was the book’s narrator. It was done very well and it wasn’t weird. Sophie Nélisse and Geoffrey Rush were my favorite things about this movie. They showed the beautiful relationship between a daughter and a father! This one got me in tears, too!

game of thrones

9. Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin: Okay, it’s not a movie but it’s still an amazing adaptation! I’m not fully caught up. I’ve seen episodes from each season and I’ve read up to the second book. From what I’ve read, they’ve been accurately close and I love that about it. Plus the beautiful cast (Richard Madden, Kit Harrington, Emilia Clarke, Nikolaj, Coster-Waldau, Sophie Turner, Lena Headey, the list goes on). Not only are they very visually appealing, they are all fantastic actors! I love that picture, by the way!

how to train your dragon how to train your dragon

10. How to Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell: Okay, I didn’t actually read the books. I didn’t know they were books until recently. But I do love the depth and true moral that comes with this animation. It’s about love, loyalty, friendship, forgiveness, strength, family, and so much more! The world is absolutely breathtaking! All the colors and landscaping was so detailed and beautiful. It’s just such a cute film!

How do you feel about books being turned into films or TV shows? Are you against it or for it? Would you want your favorite book being turned into a movie? What are your favorite Book to Film Adaptations? Do we share any favorites? Let me know by shooting me a comment below!

xoxo

11 thoughts on “Bookish Ramblings: Ten Best Book-to-Movie Adaptations

  1. So many of your favourite adaptations are mine as well, love Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, The Book Thief and The Maze Runner movies! I completely agree on Jennifer Lawrence too, she wasn’t who I pictured when I thought of Katniss but she’s played the role so amazingly well that now I couldn’t imagine anyone else doing it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Harry Potter and the Hunger Games would definitely be on my list, too! I didn’t know The Book Thief was a movie- I’ll have to bump it up on my TBR. Also, I didn’t know How to Train your Dragon was a book! I LOVED that movie so much! Disappointing it was a stolen idea. (But not really.)

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

