Movie Review: Cinderella

movie reviewI know blog is primarily for book reviews but I just had to do one for Cinderella! I mean, it did come from a story, right?

CinderellaCinderella
Directed by: Kenneth Branagh
Produced by: Simon Kinberg, David Barron, Allison Shearmur
Screenplay by: Chris Weitz
Release Date: March 13, 2015
Starring: Lily James, Richard Madden, Cate Blanchett, Helena Bonham Carter, Stellan Skarsgard, Holliday Grainger, & Derek Jacobi
Running Time: 105 minutes
Production Company: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures

 

My Review:

5stars

Cinderella-ball-gown-dance-2015

On my blog, more than once, I have expressed how much I love Cinderella — the animated film, book retellings, even film renditions like Ella Enchanted. When I heard that Disney wanted to make a live-action of it, I was beyond ecstatic. Even more so when I found out that Richard Madden (yay, Robb Stark) was casted as Prince Charming and Cate Blanchett (yay, Galadriel) as Lady Tremaine. I can’t believe it took me this long to finally watch it but I’m so glad I didn’t wait until it came out on DVD.

cinderella-coupleThis has got to be the best rendition to the animated film I’ve ever seen. It was beautiful and touching and it added more detail than the animation. It gave the characters, not just Cinderella, more depth. There are more characters added and there’s a plot for Cinderella’s side of the story and a plot for the Prince’s side. I love that we got some more questions answered when compared to the animation. We got to meet Cinderella’s mother, learn the Prince’s name (Kit), have a more psychologically stable king, and we actually have a reason for Kit and Cinderella falling in love. It wasn’t like in the animation where they dance and fall in love. Here they meet before the ball and have an actual conversation before and during the ball. I also love that Kit was there when she tried on the slipper plus knew who she was before she fit the shoe! I enjoyed the relationship between the king and Kit. I also like the introduction of the captain and the Duke!

1416578242648

I love the casting! It was fantastic! At least with Cate Blanchett, we know why Cinderella’s dad fell for Lady Tremaine. Do you remember how that hag looked like in the animated film? She was not a looker. I also loved the costumes. They were beautiful and very intricate and probably more modern than the original Cinderella setting but that didn’t really bother me. I really loved the script! The plot was great and the acting executed it perfectly. It really bought about a lot of emotions. I cried within 6 minutes of the film when her mother died. I cried two other times in the film. It was hilarious, too and the feels! I had so many feels when they were dancing. It was a beautiful scene and dance sequence. It was just plain fantastic and has become a favorite movie of mine released this year.

1-cinderella-wedding-dress-designer-0311-disney-square-w352 Cinderella_THUMB-1416425294038 RichardMaddenPrinceCharming

The one thing that I did miss about this film was the lack of music. Okay, okay. It’s not supposed to be a musical but I did love the songs from the original film. It was a minuscule thing. I also wasn’t too fond of the carriage because all the gold seems so gaudy to me. I preferred the white and gold from the animation. Cinderella is a must-watch film and for people like me, it’s a must-buy once the DVD hits the stores!

With the successes of Cinderella and Maleficent in the theaters, Disney have started developing more live-action films, including Peter Pan, Mulan, Winnie the Pooh, Pinocchio, Dumbo, and Beauty and the Beast. Emma Watson was already casted as Belle and Reese Witherspoon as Tinkerbell. I’m super excited for Mulan because she’s an Asian princess and totally kick butt. I also can’t wait for Beauty and the Beast. I don’t know how they’re going to do a Winnie the Pooh live- action but I’d watch it, it’s was a favorite. I’ve never seen Peter Pan, Dumbo, or Pinocchio. I’m interested to see how they’ll do Dumbo.

Did you see Cinderella? What did you think? Are you excited for the upcoming live-action films? Comment below!

xoxo

9 thoughts on “Movie Review: Cinderella

  1. I enjoyed that it took care of the reasoning why the stepmother and stepsisters didn’t know who she was. My bf thinks there were still gaps but I can’t recall precisely where at the moment. Loved it too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved Ellis Enchanted so much! And I really enjoyed then movie review. I would read all your movie reviews so I’m okay with you switching it up a little!
    I personally am a fan of the Cinderella stores and re-tellings too and this movie is definitely on my to-watch list. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love Ella Enchanted, one of my favourite movies. I haven’t seen Cinderella yet but I would like to. I’m really excited for Beauty and The Beast as I love Emma Watson and think she’ll be the perfect Belle, plus Belle was always my favourite Disney princess when I was younger (for obvious reasons, no other Disney princess is a big a bookworm as she is and I really related to that).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Today’s #(f)mcm: Rhysand & June Monthly Review | Love thy Shelf

What's on Your Mind?

