Non-Spoiler ARC Review: Alive (Generations #1) by Scott Sigler

alive Alive (Generations #1) by Scott Signler
Expected Publish Date: July 14, 2015 by Del Ray
368 pages 
Source/Edition: Copy provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review, eBook (Kindle)
Summary provided by Goodreads: 

A young woman awakes trapped in an enclosed space. She has no idea who she is or how she got there. With only her instincts to guide her, she escapes her own confinement—and finds she’s not alone. She frees the others in the room and leads them into a corridor filled with the remains of a war long past. The farther these survivors travel, the worse are the horrors they confront. And as they slowly come to understand what this prison is, they realize that the worst and strangest possibilities they could have imagined don’t even come close to the truth.

My Review: 

interesting

This is my first book by Scott Sigler and I have to say I was very impressed. I’m definitely picking up more books by him. What intrigued me about this book was that it was likened to The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, Divergent by Veronica Roth, and The Maze Runner by James Dashner. It felt more like The Maze Runner more than anything. While I’m at it, it also reminded me of Lord of the Flies by William Golding. The book picks up from the start and pulls you right in. I really liked the writing style. It might not be for everyone and it did get a little repetitive but it was an insignificant detail for me. The pace was quick and the imagery was fantastic. It really helped me visualize the surroundings — even when I didn’t want to visualize it (more on that later).

The concept was really interesting and new for me. I think that Sigler’s execution of it was effective. I did get frustrated though because I wanted to already know what was going on. I wanted to know where they were, how they got there, who they really were. When you do find out everything, it will blow your mind! It was a real shocker for me and I’m glad that I stuck it out until the end. I liked some of the characters, mainly the protagonists. Em is a great dynamic character and while she still bothered me with her wishy-washy feelings, she pulls through in the end. There were some other memorable characters, most who I actually detested because of their personality.

scared scared

Okay I have to say this book did surprise me. Not just the plot twists. It surprised me because I wasn’t expecting creepy or scary. It’s definitely one of the darker books that I’ve read. It may not be scary for you but I’m a big pansy so I had to put it down a couple of times especially since I do the bulk of my reading at 2 in the morning when everyone is asleep. During that time, my mind goes crazy and I think and visualize the worst things possible. (I was thinking of Mr. Scratch from Criminal Minds *shudders*) It was creepy to the extreme for me. I picked it up right away the morning after .. when it was bright out and my sister was over. I’m glad I did though because after I started up again, I couldn’t put it down! It was a really great ending. But the coolest thing about it is that I got to have a mini conversation with Scott Sigler himself about the book. Awesome.

Screenshot_2015-05-19-20-49-50  Screenshot_2015-05-19-20-49-39

Final thoughts: You should really look into picking this up! It was a great read and that ending just makes you want more. Good thing it looks like it’s going to have a sequel! It will keep you on your toes. Pre-order it now or pick it up when it’s released, either way it should be on your shelf. If this book is any indicator of the trilogy, then I’m positive that the rest of the books will be just as good, if not better!

thumbs up

Alive (Generations #1)  by Scott Sigler will be published July 14, 2015. You can pre-order a copy of it on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository, and Indigo.

xoxo

12 thoughts on “Non-Spoiler ARC Review: Alive (Generations #1) by Scott Sigler

  1. Hahaha, awesome that you got to have a conversation with the author about the creepiness level of the book! And not all of us are asleep while you’re up at 2am reading, but you can just thank the loveliness of time zones for that *wink* Happy reading Anjie<3

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m adding this one to my TBR! The synopsis sounds very intriguing (plus the fact that you said it was a little creepy) and I’m hoping I like the writing style. Repetition really works well for me when it’s done right, like in Patrick Ness’s Chaos Walking series.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Monthly Review #1 & May Book Haul | Love thy Shelf

  4. Pingback: Alive (Generations #1) by Scott Sigler on Audible | Love thy Shelf

What's on Your Mind?

