Review: We’ll Always Have Summer (Summer #3) by Jenny Han

we'll always have summer

We’ll Always Have Summer (Summer #3) by Jenny Han
Published: April 26, 2011
276 pages 
Source/Edition: Bought at Books A Million, Paperback
Summary provided by Goodreads: 

It’s been two years since Conrad told Belly to go with Jeremiah. She and Jeremiah have been inseparable ever since, even attending the same college– only, their relationship hasn’t exactly been the happily ever after Belly had hoped it would be. And when Jeremiah makes the worst mistake a boy can make, Belly is forced to question what she thought was true love. Does she really have a future with Jeremiah? Has she ever gotten over Conrad? It’s time for Belly to decide, once and for all, who has her heart forever.

My Review: 

I’ve kept my other two reviews on this trilogy spoiler-free but I can’t do that with this one! There’s too many things to just talk about. I’ll explain everything as thorough as I can without boring you. Plus, there will be gifs. Gifs, gifs, gifs all around – I challenged myself, too. I made them with the cast of Avengers! (WHO LOVED AVENGERS: AGE OF ULTRON?!) Anyway, let’s begin!

cute

When I first read the synopsis I yelled. I actually yelled in real life. WHAT?!? Jeremiah proposes!! I didn’t know how to feel about it honestly haha. I was excited to see what happened in the past years and see Jeremiah and Belly’s relationship. I was also pretty happy because honestly, I love Jeremiah. I was pretty upset with Conrad in the previous books because he was so cold to Belly. He was just so confusing. So by this book I was totally for … Jerebelly? … BellemiahThose sound hilarious haha. We see their relationship and it’s sweet and overall just so cute. They go to college together, fall asleep in the same bed, hang out with each other friends, the whole shebang.

omg

Then, we see even more into the relationship and how Belly feels like she’s working more in the relationship than Jeremiah. Crap gets real when we find out that Jeremiah “cheated” on Belly during a breakup. It’s just like Ross and Rachel from Friends. I didn’t know who to side with. I was just too shocked about what happened next that I couldn’t even formulate a solid opinion about Jeremiah’s cheating. Enter the proposal! I was yelling! Because this is no way to propose! You don’t propose marriage so that she’ll trust you! That got me mad. It was so rash and just wrong. I understand that they love each other but you can’t fix your problems by getting married!

tumblr_m5u4hzRfKH1qfuf4mo2_500

It all goes downhill from there. They’re both so excited about the prospect of getting married … in a couple of months! While Belly’s friends are supportive (Taylor really surprised me but more on that later), their family was not. I sided with the family. It’s too soon and they’re too young. It wasn’t their age really but their maturity level. To get married in such circumstances show that they aren’t ready for marriage. Conrad’s angry. Adam refuses to talk about it. Laurel won’t go to the wedding. Steven is as mellow as always. The wedding already is a disaster.

no

Laurel and Belly argue and Belly runs out and moves herself to the Cousins beach house, where Conrad is staying. You already know that spells T-E-N-S-I-O-N and Han definitely makes you feel it. This was another bout of frustration for me. I didn’t agree with the marriage and then Conrad’s there, mixing up people’s feelings. And by people, I mean Belly. I was about done with Conrad being hot and then cold and it’s like make up your mind already! Belly is planning the wedding and enlists Conrad’s aid when Jeremiah isn’t around. Insert more tension. Insert Jeremiah and Conrad tension. It was just intense.

no happy

That’s pretty much how I feel when Han mixes in Conrad’s point of view. See the wide range of emotions?! It’s so hard to be angry at Conrad when you find out why he’s been pushing Belly away this whole time. It was a mixture of Conrad needing to find himself and deal with the death of Susannah, as well as wanting Belly and Jeremiah to be happy. What I loved is that you find out through his perspective that he’s loved her all along. That scene where he finally tells her! OH. MY. GOSH. Belly’s heart was breaking. My heart was breaking. It reminded me of Will and Tessa in The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare. Here’s my solution though. He should’ve set Belly aside in the previous book and explain what he was going through, that he needed to work on himself but he that loves her and wants her to wait for him. Easy. Oh well.

criesOne of the most mature thing that Belly does in the entire trilogy: fessed up to Jeremiah. She tells him what Conrad said and so on. Literally shattered me into pieces. Jeremiah loved her so much! He went on with his speech about how he wants all of her, every bit of her, all of her heart, which she can’t give because a piece will always belong to Conrad. Jeremiah breaking down was so painful because he was always the light-hearted, fun, and down to earth brother. He then walks out the night before the wedding and Conrad goes to look for him. We find out that Susannah wrote them all letters for their wedding days, including Belly, and that got me crying again! I MISS SUSANNAH! Conrad gives Jeremiah the letter from their mom but it turns out it’s was Conrad’s letter… with Susannah saying that she knew Conrad loved Belly all along. It was a mess of a wedding day. In the end, they called it off — as they should. This is no way to start a marriage. We do find out that she eventually does get married to a Fisher. But to who?!?

yes

Before we get to that, I want to say how happy I am about Taylor. She really annoyed me in the first two books. She seemed very superficial and selfish. She really matured in this book. I felt she matured more than Belly. Belly’s maturation really shines towards the end. Taylor, however, has given Belly real sound advice. It just really surprised me!

giphy tumblr_n33qqe9iwl1sipu65o1_500

OH. MY. GOODNESS. I can’t tell you how happy I was that Belly married Conrad! First love conquers! My only problem was that I wanted more on their relationship. How they fixed things. How they got to their wedding. How they overcame all the obstacles. I wanted to know what happened with Jeremiah! Conrad and Jeremiah seemed to be on good terms but I wanted to know how it happened. Anyway, I absolutely LOVED reading the letters Conrad sent  to Belly. I especially loved that Conrad kept the one letter that Belly wrote him in his wallet. Go … Bellrad? … Conbelly? I’m terrible at this. Anyway, I loved this ending.
xoxo

8 thoughts on “Review: We’ll Always Have Summer (Summer #3) by Jenny Han

  1. SPOILER ALERT
    I totally agree with you in everything in this review, I cried happy tears when Connor and Belly get together in the end
    Your review just brought back all the feelings of nostalgia and feels!! I think I am going to go re-read this series now. *looks for my copies of the summer trilogy*

    Like

  2. Pingback: Monthly Review #1 & May Book Haul | Love thy Shelf

  3. I could not stop crying the whole time I read this series. The way Han described the emotions throughout the entire thing really connected with me age-wise. I was able to understand from past experiences and use therm to dig deeper into this world. I think she did an amazing job explaining how these feelings impact our lives .
    Conrad!!!!!!!!!<3 This is every girl's dream right here, and i think I'm in love with him. I knew it was going to be Conrad from the beginning, so I just kept forgiving for pushing Belly away him because i knew he was being freaking selfless and awesome. From how Belly described him, he was never as outspoken as Jere except for with his father. So there's that, the fact that he's a teenage boy, he's trying to discover himself, his mom died, and his brother is in love with Belly. That's a lot of weight to shoulder all at once. I actually really admire how he handled most of it. That's got to be a really tough situation to deal with, and i love that he worked so hard to make everyone else happy because it showed the maturity that Jere didn't seem to possess.
    Speaking of, I never really liked Jere. I mean he was sorta sweet, but really he just came off as doe-like. He never knew what was going on and there just wasn't as much under the surface. What you see is what you get, and there wasn't a whole lot on the see in the first place. Don't get me wrong, he was a good guy, but there just wasn't a lot of substance to him.
    I think my favorite part of the entire thing is when you find out that Susannah wrote the letter for Conrad. I was literally jumping up and down screaming "Best mom ever!" for five minutes straight. She was the best character out of this whole story line, and she was the only one who actually understood Conrad from the beginning. I loved Han for putting this part in there because in a way, it also touches on fate and destiny, and it opens the door to exploring your own thoughts on the subject. 5 stars to this amazing books series, and now I'm going to go read it again.

    Like

What's on Your Mind?

