Review: Ugly People Beautiful Hearts by Marlen Komar

Ugly People Beautiful Heart by Marlen Komar
Published: March 13, 2015
96 pages 
Source/Edition: Provided by author in exchange for an honest review, Kindle
Summary provided by Goodreads: 

Ugly People Beautiful Hearts is a poetry book with over 70 poems that explores loneliness, quiet sadness, bursts of happiness, and contentment over the fact that everything you have, will eventually go okay. But that’s sort of beautiful in its own right.
It has verses moving between the feelings of loving someone, feeling loss, trusting the night sky, losing your light, resolving that hurt is beautiful, and finding compassion in a stranger’s smile.

My Review: 

WOW. What more can I say? This blew my mind. I always enjoyed poetry but my kind of poetry is more like Keats, Browning, Frost, and Plath. Ugly People Beautiful Hearts was definitely new to me but when I found out that they were love poems, I was instantly hooked. I’m a sucker for love poems. I devoured the beautiful writing and how it elicited such raw emotion and evoked so many of my memories. The detailed imagery and word choice were perfect and created the right effect. I loved how the compilation of poetry is written in a way that tells a story. You pretty much go down memory lane of your first love, broken hearts, anticipation, unrequited love, and love that you’ve loss.

It was so difficult to pick because there were so many amazing ones but this was my favorite:

To Think There Was a Time

You know what’s my favorite kind of beautiful?

Once I saw you on a bus but didn’t really see that you were there. You were the words behind the words of my story; a page dog-eared by someone else; a radio plying the window across the alley.

And now.

Now I dedicate myself to the way your hair falls over your eyes.

When we’ve overslept the alarm, the way your fingertips feel on my back is carved into my skin.

Sense your scent on crowded trains and loud bars; in deserted cafes and white pillow cases.

See your red knit had in every other crowd I find myself in. While crossing the street; while ordering something warm.

And when I run my palm down the length of your back, counting the wildflowers growing untamed between your spine, it comes to me. I don’t just have you. I found you.

I know the way your eyes tell me the things you lips can’t when I lean into your space

And touch your lips to mine.

How you were once a stranger? That’s my favorite kind of beautiful.

marshall

Wasn’t that just so beautiful?!?! Did a certain someone pop in your head for you? Because it did for me. Pretty much every poem in this book did that for me. It was hard not to and I attribute this to the wonderful writing.

Some other amazing poems from the collection:

We Think of Here
And I’m
A Rather Cold Tuesday Afternoon
Passed Notes
But God, You. Just All of You.
Have Courage, My Love
Blue.
A List of, Essentially, Loves
To: You

All the Different Multitudes of Blue

And this is what sadness feels like? Or is it joy? I can’t tell anymore. All I know is that I love you. I’m sitting on the other side of the window pane, but I might as well have been on the other side of this broad night. But I loved you. And no one ever said love was meant to make you happy.

I really loved that one. It’s short and sweet — okay maybe not sugary sweet but it’s effective and brilliant. It just describes something that I’ve felt so many times. I think that’s why all these poems mean so much to me. It’s not just poem after poem. It’s all these words and spaces that make you feel so much. Even if you aren’t into poetry, you need to get this book because if you haven’t fallen in love, you eventually will. And you’ll fall in love with Komar’s Ugly People Beautiful Hearts.

Thank you to the author, Marlen Komar, for providing me with a copy. Make sure to pick up yours on Amazon!

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Ugly People Beautiful Hearts by Marlen Komar

  1. Pingback: Monthly Review #1 & May Book Haul | Love thy Shelf

  2. Jay D. says:

    Very well written, will look forward more from you. Also check out AHA Program where authors promote their books to more than 250,000 readers, you can check it here http://www.authorjd.com/aha-program/

    Like

What's on Your Mind?

