Review: It’s Not Summer Without You (Summer #2) by Jenny Han

it's not summer without you

It’s Not Summer Without You (Summer #2) by Jenny Han
Published: April 27, 2010
288 pages 
Source/Edition: Bought at Amazon, Paperback
Summary provided by Goodreads: 

Can summer be truly summer without Cousins Beach?

It used to be that Belly counted the days until summer, until she was back at Cousins Beach with Conrad and Jeremiah. But not this year. Not after Susannah got sick again and Conrad stopped caring. Everything that was right and good has fallen apart, leaving Belly wishing summer would never come.
But when Jeremiah calls saying Conrad has disappeared, Belly knows what she must do to make things right again. And it can only happen back at the beach house, the three of them together, the way things used to be. If this summer really and truly is the last summer, it should end the way it started–at Cousins Beach.

My Review: 

emotion

Yup, if I could describe this book in one gif, it’s that right there from Scrubs. My emotions were all over the place in this book.

crying

That’s another gif that can describe It’s Not Summer Without You. That was literally me. In. Every. Chapter.

Should I even write a review? Of course I should! There’s so much to say about this book! Jenny Han does it again! This time with another point of view: Jeremiah’s. I liked that we got to see his inner turmoil and feelings. In The Summer I Turned Pretty, we got to understand Belly. We saw how she was always left behind because she was the only girl. She was just the little sister. We saw how this affected her confidence and we saw how hard she was working to overcome it. Here we see Jeremiah, who lives in the shadow of his amazingly perfect brother Conrad. Conrad, who had perfect grades, who was better at football, who was naturally good at everything, who got the girl … or so we thought.

This book continues with the deep themes and motifs but somehow even more depressing. What happened with Susannah was the hardest thing to read! My father had cancer and I’d be beyond depressed if it every came back. Reading how Conrad, Jeremiah, Laurel, Mr. Fisher, Belly, and Steven death with it was so heartbreaking. This is where most of my tears came from. My other tears were reserved for Conrad and Belly. Jenny Han continues to switch between present and past and slowly reveals what happened to Conrad and Belly’s relationship. I have to say I was really angry at Conrad for treating Belly the way that he did. I was even angrier towards the end but I can’t say much without spoiling.

I really missed Steven here. I felt like he should’ve been there to help find Conrad. It’s like the team, back together again. Plus, I needed Steven for comic relief. Anyone else really love him? He was hilarious! Maybe I’m biased because I’ve always an older, overprotective bother. Let’s be honest, it’s kind of sweet haha. Jeremiah’s point of view kind of helped make up for his absence. His perspective really makes you fall for him. Talk about trouble with shipping here. I was so conflicted. There was Conrad, the perfect first love but he hurt her. Then there’s Jeremiah who’s her best friend, who understands here but … he’s not Conrad. It was all so confusing and then that ending. Can I say CLIFFHANGER! Good thing I had the next book in hand! xoxo

3 thoughts on “Review: It’s Not Summer Without You (Summer #2) by Jenny Han

  1. Pingback: Monthly Review #1 & May Book Haul | Love thy Shelf

What's on Your Mind?

