Review: Chewy Noh and the Fall of the Mu-Dang by Tim Learn

Chewy Noh and the Fall of the Mu-Dang by Tim Learn
Published: September 08, 2014
386 pages 
Source/Edition: Provided by author in exchange for an honest review, eBook
Summary provided by Goodreads: 

Chewy Noh has problems. He was born with them. Two weeks after his birth, the family fortune-teller saw bad things in his future…and she was right. The school bully hates him and will stop at nothing to get rid of him. His mother suddenly can’t get out of bed, complaining of horrible headaches. And worst of all, the secret his grandmother is hiding may be at the root of it all. But why should he worry? He’s a superhero with a power no one’s ever seen before!

My Review: 

This book has been a surprise. If I was younger, it would definitely be a solid 4 but right now, for me, it was a 3.5 — so I rounded up. It took a bit of time for me to get used to and to get me into the right frame of mind. It had an interesting plot to it and it was a fairly easy read. You learn a little bit of Korean culture, as well. This would remind me of school except my memories of school were never this harsh! I hope that school now isn’t like this. Chewy Noh is surrounded by the worst bullies! I couldn’t wrap my head around it. How can kids be so cruel? Plus, they’re so cruel for such petty reasons — okay not that petty but still there’s absolutely no reason to treat people the way the Grumbley brothers did, more so Susie *rolls eyes*. She did not have a legitimate reason to act the way she did.

I like that there were some very positive messages coming out of this book. I especially loved the ending with Chewy and Kent. I love how it wasn’t all revenge for him. The two main characters, Chewy and Clint, were very likable and you don’t really pity them but you see yourself in their shoes. Well, at least I did. I was never the bully or the popular girl in school. I was a mixture of Chewy and Clint — passing tests but hidden in the shadows. There was also a great plot twist that you learn about the Mu-Dang and its history. When everything starts to piece together, it starts to really pick up. It was a great book overall and while it is more suited for a younger population, people of all ages can enjoy it.

Thank you to the author, Tim Learn, for providing me with a copy of the novel. Make sure to pick up a copy of it on Amazon!

xoxo

7 thoughts on “Review: Chewy Noh and the Fall of the Mu-Dang by Tim Learn

  1. Pingback: Monthly Review #1 & May Book Haul | Love thy Shelf

What's on Your Mind?

