Ten Books I’ll Probably Never Read

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme brought to us by the wonderful bloggers from The Broke and the Bookish. I always say never say never. Actually, I’ve never said that before in my entire life. This week’s topic is Ten Books You’ll Probably Never Read. I don’t like saying I’ll never read a certain book because you never know down the road the circumstances you’re in might lead you to read the book. Or let’s say you take a class and it’s one of the reading materials. So instead of never, I see it more as the ten books I’ll least likely read!

Ten Books I’ll Probably Never Read
  

1. 50 Shades of Grey by E. L. James – I know I said never say never but this one is 100% never. These kinds of books, romance, BDSM, and so on. Not my thing. Will never be my thing.

2. Torment by Lauren Kate – I read the first book and I wasn’t too attached to it. It was kind of boring. I own this book so maybe one day I’ll give it a chance. But that cover, though!

3. Looking for Alaska by John Green – I know, I know. WHAT?! Yeah, I didn’t really love The Fault In Our Stars and I was only attached to it because the cancer plot really hit home. I don’t like the way John Green writes and I doubt he’ll change the way he does, so I probably won’t be reading any of his books.

4. Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa – I don’t know how popular this book is but I read the first and the fae thing didn’t really stick with me. It wasn’t all boring but I can put this off.

5. Switched by Amanda Hocking – I bought this book because the synopsis seemed interesting but then I found out it was about fae and so that made me not want to read it. Again, I might one day because SJ Maas wrote about fae and I loved it.

6. Pretties by Scott Westerfeld – I read Uglies a while back and I bought this book but never picked it up. Uglies felt like Delirium to me but not as interesting. Plus, I read it after Divergent so that might have affected it.

7. Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard – I might be too old for this one. Well, maybe not because I love Percy Jackson. But I’m over the show because it won’t end! That feeling extends to the books.

8.  The Vampire Diaries by L. J. Smith – I still love the show but I’ve heard that it’s so different from the books. So, I’ll be sticking to the show.

9. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare – I’m over her, which is really harsh because I loved The Infernal Devices and Will Herondale is my soul mate, but I hated City of Heavenly Fire so much because I felt like she forced the characters from this book down our throats and weren’t necessary to the plot. That worked out negatively for me. I’ll only be reading books from her that have Will & Tessa in it, which is in the works. By the way, that’s not the official cover, I don’t think one is released yet. I found that on tumblr. Looks awesome though. Credit to the creator.

10. Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare – Piggybacking from the previous choice, I’m on hiatus for shadowhunters. Along with that, I never cared for Simon and then he was allowed to ascend as a shadowhunter. Then we have short stories of his training? No thank you. Passity pass pass.

I know that I have some unpopular opinions up there but please don’t hate me haha. Which books are you never going to read and why? Do we have any in common? Comment below 😀

xoxo

38 thoughts on “Ten Books I’ll Probably Never Read

  1. I actually kind of agree with you with regard to Cassandra Clare. There are so many Shadowhunter books and spin-offs and prequels, I don’t even know how many there are anymore. I read the first three Mortal Instruments books and never thought more books were necessary, so in my head that’s how the series ended.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looking for Alaska was my favorite JG, but I felt a REALLY emotional connection to that story. But I can understand why it’s on your list this week. And yes, definitely just stick to TVD show. The books are not good. Completely different Elenas.

    Thanks for stoppin’ by! Have a great week! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I didn’t like “Looking for Alaska” at all and I completely agree on Cassandra Clare! I’m so over her too… Loved the TID but hated TMI. Haven’t even bothered picking up “City of Heavenly Fire” yet. And I completely agree with you – she’s just milking the franchise for the money, not because she really cares about her characters. At least that’s how it feels/reads.

    Also – things I wish could be unseen/unread: Fifty Shades of effing Grey. Read it because my friends were raving about it. Apparently I need to find myself some new friends…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’d say don’t pick up City of Heavenly Fire … It was such a letdown when compared to how TID ended and there were too many similarities like she couldn’t think of a different way to end things.

      Hahaha! A lot of people end up reading or seeing it because of friend recommendations. Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I kidn of feel that Cassandra Clare is just writing more shadow hunter books because that’s all she can think of. Like she’s found her quota of characters and plots and just keeps repeating them. Is that super harsh? I LOVE the Infernal Devices though, so I’m excited for the Edwardian shadow hunter series to come out!
    Beth x
    http://www.thequietpeople.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think that’s harsh! I feel the same way about here. She needs to start writing about something else. She has so many shadowhunter books lined up already. TID was the best! The Edwardian shadhowhunter series are the only series that I’ll read from her now. Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

      Like

  5. I’ve heard of almost all of these. I’ll probably never get to Looking for Alaska, either. I loved TFIOS, but then An Abundance of Katherines was only so-so, so I’m guessing that the fact that the plot of LFA doesn’t interest me at all means that I’m just not going to like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I had Pretty Little Liars on my list too. Well from #2 on because I read the first. It was just ok. I read Looking for Alaska and really enjoyed it but I love John Green. Other than that I probably won’t read most of the books on your list either for one reason or another. Great picks!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ugh, LOOKING FOR ALASKA. I remember way back in high school when all of my peers were super into that book and I just did not care. I liked THE FAULT IN OUR STARS (in a Lifetime TV movie kind of way), but it took a lot of convincing to get me to even pick it up because ALASKA was just so overhyped and AN ABUNDANCE OF KATHERINES was actually the worst.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I have the Vampire Diaries on my list too, I watch the tv series and tried the books but everything seemed different and yeah I just don’t think the books are for me. The series is fine, mainly due to Damian haha!

    Interesting selection! Hope you’re having a great day! Here’s my TTT if you would like to check it out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I think 50 Shades of Grey is one books that a lot of people can agree that they will NEVER read. Myself included.
    I get where you’re coming from with the John Green thing. I don’t really ever connect too much to his characters and his books tend to be the same. I have read all of his books, but can definitely see where you’re coming from. It’s funny – Cassandra Clare was going to be on my list too, but for fear of angering fangirls everywhere I left it off.

    Like

  10. I agree with all of these (especially Looking for Alaska but I already made the mistake of reading it ;_;) except the Shadowhunter books because even though I keep telling myself and kicking myself not to read any more of Clare’s books since I hated the last 3 Mortal Instruments books, I’ll probably still end up reading them. It’s a curse. Also kicking myself for reading 50 shades. Why you do this to me, curiosity??

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww so Looking for Alaska didn’t do it for you? I think maybe, eventually down the line, if it receives outstanding reviews, I might read the other Clare books but I can’t promise it. I don’t think the last 3 TMI books were even necessary. City of Glass was a great ending. Haha curiosity gets the best of us! I almost wanted to read 50 shades because of curiosity but the overwhelming negative reviews stopped me lol

      Like

  11. SINCE WHEN DID LADY MIDNIGHT GET A COVER AND WHY DOES IT LOOK EXACTLY LIKE CITY OF BONES BUT WITH A CHICK AND A SHIRT?? Oh wait I just read your comment. Rant over. *but really the new cover better be in a dark palette or I’ll flip tables*

    Like

  12. Pingback: Monthly Review #1 & May Book Haul | Love thy Shelf

What's on Your Mind?

