The Burrito Bowl Book Tag

burrito-bowl-book-tag-image-750x450

A book tag … inspired by Chipotle?! Sign me up! Chipotle is one of the most amazing restaurants out there and if I could, I’d eat it everyday! Thank you Cristina @ Girl in the Pages for tagging me in this delicious tag! I’m currently writing this up and craving some Chipotle haha

Here are some rules to devour this tag:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you to make your own burrito bowl, linking back to their site.
  2. Answer the tag questions.
  3. Tag 5 others to create their own bowl!
  4. Food coma.

*This tag is not endorsed by Chipotle, just inspired by it! You can answer all of the ingredient questions or just the ones that make up your usual order!

The Ingredients:

Rice: The Foundation – “The book that got you into reading (or book blogging)”

I used to read Nicholas Sparks books when I was in high school. Most of my reading choices were limited to his books because I wasn’t very adventurous with books. I read Twilight by Stephenie Meyer and that helped me warm up to a different genre. My big reading spurt, however, is all thanks to The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. The book that got me into book blogging? Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling. It was after reading them that I realized I wanted to have a blog solely on books and not just post my reviews on Goodreads.

Beans: The Filler – “The book with a whole lot of nothing going on”

This might be an unpopular opinion but I was really bored throughout Ruin & Rising by Leigh Bardugo, Fallen by Lauren Kate, Matched by Allie Condie, and In the Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken. I felt like the entirety of these books were devoid of action and progress to the plot.

Protein: The Building Block – “A book quote to live by”

So many great quotes so I’ll go with one that I recently read:

Sometimes fate or life or whatever you want to call it, leaves a door a little open and you walk through it. But sometimes it locks the door and you have to find the key, or pick the lock, or knock the damn thing down. And sometimes, it doesn’t even show you the door, and you have to build it yourself. But if you keep waiting for the doors to be opened for you… I think you’ll have a hard time finding single happiness, let alone that double portion.

Inspiring isn’t it? It’s from Just One Year by Gayle Forman

Fajitas: The Crunch of Texture – “A book with immaculate world-building”

One of my favorite worlds that I’ve read is Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas!

Salsa: The Dance of Flavour – “A book that kept you on your toes”

Okay, I was absolutely nervous throughout Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare. I was so scared that my favorite characters would get hurt or even die. Then that epilogue happened. I was right to be nervous *sobs*

Corn: The Explosion of Sweetness – “A memorable scene with friendship/romance”

Okay, sorry there will be spoilers. One of my favorite scenes of friendship, with a possibility of romance (mostly friendship though — unfortunately) comes from Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas: Dorian showing and telling Chaol about his loyalty and love for Celaena, no matter her background/upbringing.

Now for romance, spoilers as well, comes from Cress by Marissa Meyer: Prince Kai and Cinder finally talk out their issues and kiss! Major swooning and fangirling here!

Cheese: The Bond of Calcium – “Two characters from different books you wish could be friends”

I think it would’ve been cool if America from The Selection by Kiera Cass and Cinder from … erhm Cinder by Marissa Meyer met and became friends. They’re in different situations, yet similar kinds, with the possibility of ruling over a kingdom. They could’ve helped each other out, give each other tips or something haha

Sour Cream: The Tangy Topper – “The quirkiest character you’ve ever read (protagonist or supporting)”

Quirky? I hate to have to choose another character from a book I’ve already talked about on this post but she was the first that came to mind. Iko from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer! She’s so cute and funny.

Guacamole: The Cost of Creaminess – “A book you paid too much for”

I’m pretty good with buying cheaper versions of books. I usually buy them used so I’d say the books I paid too much for are the ones I pre-order on Barnes and Noble because they are signed and exclusive editions: The One and The Heir by Kiera Cass. Other than that, I’d say my collection of The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare — I have about  3 copies of each book.

Lettuce: The Handful of Crispness – “A refreshing concept/theme in a book”

I was close to not answering this one because I couldn’t think of something. Then, light bulb! Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan was so refreshing. It’s written for a younger audience and I think that’s why it was light. It was fun, entertaining, and it taught some Greek mythology!

Chips: Le Pièce de Résistance – “A must-read recommendation [if you like this book/genre—you decide!]”

I’ll always recommend Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (fantasy), Lux by Jennifer L. Armentrout (science fiction), and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han (contemporary)!

Tabasco: The Kick to the Face – Your favorite fight/action sequence”

I feel like I haven’t read too many fight sequences, so I’ll say the final battle in The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan and that last battle in Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas!

Who I’m Tagging:

Melanie @ Reviews of a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile
Ashley @ What’s She Reading?
Veronica @ The Talking Bookworm
Reema @ Swxftbooks
Olivia @ Fluttering Pages

xoxo

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Book Tags and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Burrito Bowl Book Tag

  1. Glad you had a fun time responding to the questions!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great picks for all of the categories! I really need to read Cress and Heir of Fire. The battle in The Last Olympian is my favorite too! And props to the Hunger Games – that’s the one that really got me into YA. This looks like so much fun! Thanks for tagging me ❤

    Like

  3. I feel like I have to ask this to everyone who eats Chipotle religiously but what goes into your bowl (assuming you get a bowl)?

    I feel like I’m the 1% (as usual) who has heard all the great things in Throne of Glass but has yet to make their rounds to it. The hype is real!

    And you definitely went over and beyond with answering these tag questions–which basically tells me you ask for “a little bit more” of each ingredient when you order from Chipotle (maybe?).

    Cheers,
    Joey

    Like

  4. hermionefowl says:

    Yes, I completely agree about Fallen! God I hated that book. Signed copies are absolutely worth the money 🙂 Throne of Glass is fantastic! I really need to read the rest of the series. This tag looks awesome, so I tag me 🙂 Even though in New Zealand we don’t have Chipotle…

    Like

What's on Your Mind?

