Review: Just One Night (Just One Day #2.5) by Gayle Forman

Just One Night (Just One Day #2.5) by Gayle Forman
Published: May 29, 2014
40 pages 
Source/Edition: Bought at Amazon, Ebook/Kindle
Summary provided by Goodreads: 

After spending one life-changing day in Paris with laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter, sheltered American good girl Allyson “Lulu” Healey discovered her new lover had disappeared without a trace. Just One Day followed Allyson’s quest to reunite with Willem; Just One Year chronicled the pair’s year apart from Willem’s perspective. Now, back together at last, this delectable e-novella reveals the couple’s final chapter.

My Review: 

*Spoilers ahead*

Okay! That gif is just so accurate right now! I don’t even have words. It was perfect and beautiful. Their reunion was everything that I imagined and more. I laughed. I cried. I screamed. I jumped. I cheered. I fangirled throughout the entirety of this novella. I love that we finally get to see them connect their stories and how everyone that led them to this point were [somewhat] present. It was all so cute. I love how welcoming Willem’s friends were towards Allyson. I love that we got to see different views aside from Willem and Allyson. I love how they were uncertain about leaving each other. They didn’t want to part because the last time they did … well, you know the story. I honestly wish that it was longer. That last scene though *throws party* that’s all I’ll say about that.

The only thing that really threw me off was the writing style. It was totally different. Other than having the multiple point of views, which I surprisingly enjoyed, the writing felt different. Maybe it was just me but it didn’t feel like the same writing format and word choice as the duology. I wanted more. 40 pages is too short. I want more Allyson and Willem. I want more of their exciting adventures and how their lives are now that they are both living in New York! I want to see Willem introducing Allyson to Yael! There’s just so many possibilities and still so many stories. I’m so sad that it’s the end. I enjoyed it the ride though! This novella was simply bliss!

xoxoanj

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Just One Night (Just One Day #2.5) by Gayle Forman

  1. I absolutely love this series and Just One Night was the perfect conclusion. However, i do agree with you that the writing style felt different. Overall, though, it was adorable and not long enough!

    Like

What's on Your Mind?

