Top Ten Books Which Feature Female Characters Who Kick Butt!

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme brought to us by the wonderful bloggers from The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Books Which Feature Characters Who [blank]. The sky is the limit! I wasn’t sure if I was going to do it this week because I couldn’t think of anything. Then, out of nowhere the sky opened up (just kidding) and I knew that I wanted to feature my favorite female characters that kick butt. They’re no damsel in distress and they don’t need a man to be their knight and shining armor! Let’s get to it!

Top Ten Books Which Feature Female Characters Who Kick Butt!

tumblr_mrwf8mVQoS1s8h2tuo3_500

(Who loves Iron Man?!)

Throne of Glass

1. Celaena Sardothien from Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas: The rest of my choices are not in any order but Celaena is my favorite and she’ll always be number one for me! She’s Adarlan’s most feared assassin! Need I say more? She’s actually hired to kick people’s butt. Okay, she does more than kicking butt.

Graceling 2. Katsa from Graceling by Kristin Cashore: Okay so her “Grace” helps her out but she still kicks butt! Her survival skills are on point — same with swords and knives and pretty much any weapon you give her.

game of thrones 3. Arya Stark from A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin: She was a favorite character right from the beginning. Always wanting to learn how to fight instead of sitting and knitting like her older sister. She grows to be such a force to be reckoned with.

hunger games 4. Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: I feel like this is such an obvious choice! She’s lethal with a bow and arrow! She’s the mockingjay!

sorcerer's stone 5. Hermione Granger from The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling: Another obvious choice. She’s a genius and with a flick of a wrist can end you. She doesn’t even need her wand haha

lux 6. Katy Swartz from Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout: She’s not kick butt at first. Although, I have to give her credit for being strong around Daemon! Her strength and power throughout the series only grows!

grave mercy 7. Ismae Rienne from Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers: She is an actual patron saint of death. Direct translation: kick butt! What else is there to say? Not only is she a fighter, she’s a smart girl, too!

Percy-Jackson-The-Lightning-Thief-Original-Cover 8. Annabeth Chase from Percy Jackson & the Olympians by Rick Riordan: one of the best demigods ever! She helped saved the world against Kronos! Plus she’s an absolute genius and strategist.

200px-Angelfire_Moulton 9. Ellie Monroe from Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton: She’s not really known. I wish that books were more known in the YA community. She’s the only one who can wield angelfire — the weapon that can kill demons and all. How cool is that?

angelfall 10. Penryn Young from Penryn & the End of Days Trilogy by Susan Ee: beyond selfless, going through great lengths to save and get her sister back, and fights for the freedom of a certain lovable angel!

Who are your choices for female characters that kick butt?! What topic did you choose to do this week? Shoot me a comment below!
xoxoanj

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Top Ten Books Which Feature Female Characters Who Kick Butt!

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Books Which Feature Male Characters Who Kick Butt! | Love thy Shelf

  2. I actually pretty much chose the same topic! How could I forget about Katsa?!

    Like

  3. bianca smith says:

    A recent thriller from Brian Hamm called ‘The Art Broker’ had a brilliantly written, kickass female character that I thought really drove the story forward wonderfully.
    In fact I thought all of the characters in this book were exceptionally well developed and easy to relate to. If You like reading thrillers and suspense or even if you are just an art enthusiast, The Art Broker is an amazing read. Well worth taking a moment or two to read up on some of the reviews and give this one a chance. It’s one of the few books I have ever read a second time.

    http://www.brianhamm.com

    Like

  4. Love the list idea!! Katsa is the best and not nearly enough people have read Graceling. And (OF COURSE) Celaena – she’s the best. KATY. The thing I love about Katy is that she’s just a regular girl. She’s not an assassin. Katy doesn’t need to be up in your face with how kick butt she is. Because she just is amazing and her skills develop over the course of the series. Annabeth is #1. Not only can she kick anyone’s butt any day, but she is insanely smart and has such incredible mental strength. She goes through so much, but always keep fighting! Great job! So many wonderful female heroines to admire in YA these days.

    Like

  5. I love Annabeth and Celaena (although I have the hardest time spelling her name) and Hermonie of course! Great List!
    Thanks for stopping by The Local Muse

    Like

  6. Amazing list! I agree with all of these, so much. Many of my favorite characters have made the list. New follower, BTW.

    My T10T: http://tsundokubooks.blogspot.com/2015/04/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-characters-from.html

    Like

  7. We chose a similar topic this week Celeana, Annabeth and Hermione are all featured on my list too.
    Check it out here:
    https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/04/28/top-ten-tuesdays-2/

    Like

  8. beckmank says:

    Great topic! I would also add Ginny Weasley alongside Hermione. She is pretty awesome, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Nice! I love Hermione because she’s tough, but not necessarily in a physical way. She’s fierce with her magic because she studies hard, practices hard, and disciplines herself/her mind. I love that she’s smart, brave and true. That’s the best kind of heroine, IMHO.

    Happy TTT!

    Like

  10. Leia Ann says:

    If you like women who kick butt, you might enjoy the Elemental Assassin series by Jennifer Estep. Like the title suggests, she’s also an assassin.

    Anyway, great list! Here’s mine:
    http://www.leiawriting.co.za/blog/top-ten-tuesdays/

    Like

  11. Cait says:

    *waves hand wildly* I LOVE IRON MAN. I also love girls that don’t need a guy to save them. THIS LIST IS EPIC. Omg, so much love for Arya and Annabeth and Celaena. I just borrowed out Graceling from the library too and I’M SO EXCITED TO START IT!!
    Here’s my TTT!

    Like

    • Yay! Another Iron Man fan! Are you excited for the upcoming Avengers film?! Thank you so much! I hope you enjoy Graceling! It was such a fun read and it kind of reminded me of Game of Thrones because of the different kingdoms haha!

      Like

  12. Jazmin Jade says:

    Awesome list, female characters who kick butt are something I will never grow tired of. I just read Throne on Glass and oh my gosh I am so excited to pick up the rest. I love Celaena. Thanks for stopping by my TTT 🙂

    Like

  13. Yes to kick ass chicks! Love Katniss and I am dying to get to Grave Mercy. Awesome list!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Awesome list! I went with something similar and I love the crossovers between our lists!
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Ok, I REALLY need to read Grave Mercy! (I think I’ve been avoiding it because it’s so long!) It’s funny, I almost did a topic very similar to this one, haha. I love that you put Katy on here, she pretty much grows stronger than the male lead by the end of the series which is rare in YA!

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  16. oooh! I just bought Throne of Glass. So excited!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Celaena Sardothien is my absolut favourite female character out of all of my female loves! She’s just such a badass! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  18. ChrissiReads says:

    Fantastic choices. I absolutely love Hermione. She really does kick ass. I love Celaena too. One of my favourite characters in books!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Anne says:

    I like thinking about the evolving list of girls that are strong and powerful. just think twenty years ago you wouldn’t have been able to make this list.
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally agree with you there. I’m so glad to see such an evolution in literature and in real life. I also love how these characters send such strong messages of female empowerment and independence. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  20. Hermione and Annabeth definitely belong in this category! I haven’t read the other books yet, but several are on my (monumentally long) TBR list, if I can ever get around to them.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Some of these girls are my absolute favorites! Ismae and Celaena especially. I think I just love female assassins.

    Like

  22. Great topic choice! I love seeing Hermione, Katniss, and Katso on your list!

    Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

