Review: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer

Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer
Published: February 04, 2014
550 pages 
Source/Edition: Bought at Books A Million, Paperback
Summary provided by Goodreads: 

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

My Review: 

5stars

**Spoilers Ahead for Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress**

“You said yourself that the people of Luna need a revolutionary. So I’m going to Luna, and I’m going to start a revolution.”

It’s been a couple of hours since I finished reading Cress and I am still freaking out! It took me so long to read the last couple hundred pages. Not because it was bad. Oh no, quite the opposite! It was so good that I didn’t want it to end — especially since I have to wait until September for Winter. Now if you’ve read my reviews on the other books of the series, you know that Cinder was my favorite and Scarlet was a bit of a letdown for me. However, Cress was just out of this world. Anyhow, I feel like this third installment of the series was the best one yet and that’s saying a lot because I thought Cinder was already perfect.

tumblr_lyc02rCzYr1rn95k2o1_500

“If you honestly believe that,” said Thorne, stowing the gun again, “then you really don’t recognize true value when you see it.”


“Maybe there isn’t such a thing as fate. Maybe it’s just the opportunities we’re given, and what we do with them. I’m beginning to think that maybe great, epic romances don’t just happen. We have to make them ourselves.”

I was excited to read this because Rapunzel is another one of my favorites. “Tangled” is absolute perfection for me and I’ve watched it so many times, I can recite the lines perfectly. I loved the story between Rapunzel and Flynn Rider/Eugene and I think that Meyer perfectly adapted that romance into Cress and Thorne. I loved their relationship and how it didn’t happen instantly. They grew to really like each other and deeply care for one another. I love how we got to see a different side of the flirty, charming, arrogant Thorne. We saw his protective, selfless, and sweet side. It will get you swooning! I really loved their story arch! I also really enjoyed Cress’s point of view! She’s so adorable and innocent. I love she started off as being so sheltered and, in her own way, became stronger version of herself.

GIF--Nope-No-way-Nah-no-Tim-Meadows-Mean-Girls-GIF

I want to end my review with my favorite ship so I’ll talk about Scarlet and Wolf next. This may be an unpopular opinion, actually I’m pretty sure it is, but I don’t like them — I don’t hate them. Separately, I enjoyed some of Scarlet’s points of view and I liked her back story and that she’s a strong character. However, throughout this book, I didn’t care for her point of view. It was probably the only part of the book that I skimmed. I also don’t like Wolf that much. I skimmed through his POV, too. I can’t even remember if he had a POV here. I am not a fan of their relationship. I never did and I don’t think I ever will. I just felt like it was too forced and overdone and exaggerated. We’ve seen three different love stories in this series and I couldn’t enjoy this one. There was just something about it that screamed “desperate” for me.

We have Cinder, who literally has to see Kai marry the manipulative and sadistic enemy while knowing what will happen to him after the wedding. Cress, who witness Thorne with another girl in his lap experiencing her first real heartbreak, yet neither of them were crippled by it like Wolf was. Okay, okay. It’s a totally different situation because Sybil was evil and torturing Scarlet and Wolf knew this. I understand that. But how in the world are you helping Scarlet if you just get paralyzed every time she gets hurt?! Instead of howling and crying about it, how about actually doing something. How about helping Cinder instead of forcing Cinder to use her powers to keep you moving — then don’t get mad at being controlled when you’re being useless. I know, I know. That was a low blow but I was just really angry during those parts of the books. I just don’t believe in the depth of their relationship. Even then, everything else about Cress was so amazing that it overshadowed the bad parts that I didn’t like.

ian-somerhalder-birthday-december-8-2012-gifwarehouse-tangled

Bending his head, Kai pressed his lips to her knuckles. The plating had no nerve endings, and yet the touch sent a tingle of electricity along her arm.

“Cinder?”

“Mm?”

He lifted his gaze. “Just to be clear, you’re not using your mind powers on me right now, are you?”

She blinked. “Of course not.”

“Just checking.”

Then he slipped his arms around her waist and kissed her. Cinder gasped, pressing her palms against his chest. Kai pulled her closer […] Her hands tentatively made their way to his shoulders, before stringing around his neck.

So the moment that we’ve all been waiting for, or at least I’ve been anticipating the most: Kai’s and Cinder’s reunion. It was perfect. I was the summary of their relationship. It was awkward, funny, surprising, and endearing. It was easily my favorite part of this book. Meyer created the right amount of anticipation before we finally got to see their first kiss *internally fangirling*. I was so relieved that they finally got everything out in the open. I was so happy that he finally knew the truth about Cinder and why she kidnapped her. I was tearing up when she saw that Kai kept her cyborg foot that she lost in Cinder. It was all so touching and it was everything I imagined it to be! I was literally jumping up and down and screaming and crying like a little girl. You’d point and laugh if you saw me. Seriously.

“See? Injustice. Here we are, risking our lives to rescue Kai and this whole planet, and Adri and Pearl get to go to the royal wedding. I’m disgusted. I hope they spill soy sauce on their fancy dresses.”

There are so many other amazing things that I need to gush about. I just want to commend Meyer again for flawlessly connecting everyone’s story together and giving us some crazy twists. Her writing style makes these books so enjoyable and easy to read. I love Iko! She is so sweet and her interactions here with everyone just furthers her beautiful character. I love the support that Cinder is getting from people and I love getting Levana’s point of view. We also get to learn a bit about Princess Winter and I’m excited for the next book!

And then there was Cinder. This completely normal girl, working this completely mundane job. She was always covered in dirt or grease and she was so brilliant when she was fixing things. And she joked about stuff with me, like she was talking to a normal guy, not a prince. Everything about her seemed so genuine.


Cinder couldn’t help laughing, even exhaustedly, even just to cover up the screaming inside, as he bound her up in his arms again. Her headache began to fade, replaced with the strength of his heartbeat and the way she felt almost delicate when she was pressed up against him like this.
Almost fragile.
Almost safe.
Almost like a princess.

xoxoanj

5 thoughts on “Review: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer

  1. Pingback: Weekly Reads #8 | Love thy Shelf

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Books I’ve Read so Far in 2015 | Love thy Shelf

  3. Pingback: Review: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer | Love thy Shelf

What's on Your Mind?

