Review: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer

Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer
Published: February 05, 2013
452 pages 
Source/Edition: Bought at Book Outlet , Paperback
Summary provided by Goodreads: 

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

My Review: 

Red-Riding-Hood-red-riding-hood-20470701-500-200

 

Scarlet picks up where Cinder left off but in another country, France. We are introduced to new characters and their points of views and I’m surprised to say that it flowed easily. There was no awkward transition and everything fit. Here we have the retelling of The Little Red Riding Hood. While it was a very interesting twist to the fairy tale, it didn’t piqué my interest as much as Cinder did. Maybe it was my biased love for Cinderella? My high expectations due to a number of people telling me it was better than its predecessor? Who knows? I really liked this installment but it wasn’t what I was expecting. Meyer’s writing is just as amazing in this book as the first. I enjoyed the different points of view. There were, I think, 4 new points of view and bring able to switch between them, along with Cinder’s and Kai’s points of view, just shows how talented the author is.

I had a couple of issues with this book and if I’m being honest, I was thinking of rating this a 3 star but the last hundred pages or so really saved it. I’m not saying that I was bored with the rest of the book. It was still enjoyable but it didn’t attract me as much as Cinder. A lot of the times I was looking forward to when the point of view would switch to Cinder’s or Kai’s — again this might be my extreme love for Cinderella at the works. I really liked the new characters, especially Captain Thorne. He was hilarious and not overly cocky, but cocky still. He was a great comic relief. He was a great match with Cinder (not romantically, that’s reserved for Kai haha). But seeing their interactions with each other was fantastic and I enjoyed it very much.

Along with Thorne, we meet Scarlet and Wolf. It took me a while to warm up to these characters. Scarlet was a great character, independent, loving, headstrong, and impulsive. It was her impulsiveness that didn’t click with me. I found myself continually angry at some of her decisions because of the lack of thought. Wolf was an interesting character. He’s definitely complex and he’ll make you think. It’s hard to figure him out but I guess that’s where the mystery lies in. What bothered me the most about this book was that insta-love. Not much time passes between the beginning of the book and the end and love is already a factor. What I really liked about Cinder was that the romance slowly bloomed into something. I can see why Scarlet would be intrigued by Wolf and develop feelings for him but to that extent? I couldn’t believe it. Plus with everything that she’s gone through with him, his “betrayal”, what happened to her grandmother, it just really didn’t stick with me.

The plot was out of this world, though. Again I’m complimenting the genius writing of Marissa Meyer. The plot connected to everything that we learned in Cinder. We got to learn so much about Cinder’s past and how everyone is connected. I wish we weren’t told that Scarlet and Cinder would meet in the synopsis. I was expecting them to meet earlier in the book. Once they did meet, the pace started to pick up even more. There was definitely a lot of thought and planning put into these books. I can’t wait for Cress, especially after finding out that it’s a retelling of Rapunzel!
xoxoanj

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Review: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer

  1. Pingback: Review: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer | Love thy Shelf

  2. Pingback: Weekly Reads #8 | Love thy Shelf

  3. Pingback: Review: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer | Love thy Shelf

  4. I totally know how you felt about the insta-love! I really love Wolf and Scarlet but I definitely felt their romance was really rushed as opposed to Cinder and Kai’s (I looooove Cinder and Kai, and I think part of it is because how long you have to wait for them to really get together.) I think part of the insta-love is supposed to be explained by Wolf’s well…wolf side (if I remember correctly there was a lot of talk about them mating for life/finding a certain partner and being extremely attached to them). I loved Cress…reading your review has me wanting to do a re-read of the series before Winter comes out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! Cinder and Kai are my favorite and it’s such a long wait before they get reunited! I’m reading Cress right now and there’s so much anticipation! Yeah, the insta-love was explained with the whole animal instincts but I still didn’t like/agree with it, especially now while I’m reading Cress and Wolf has this desperate kind of love (at least how I see it).

      Like

  5. I think Wolf was hardest for me to get used to, so I completely understand where you are coming from. What I really loved about this one was seeing how their stories start to intertwine and connect to one another.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. beckmank says:

    I’ve read Cinder but haven’t started Scarlet yet. Looking forward to it after your review!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great review! I understand what you were saying about Scarlet, it took me awhile to warm up to her too. When I was reading this, i just kept thinking “Where is Cinder? I want Cinder and Kai!” So, that prevented me from enjoying it first. Eventually, though, I became interested in Scarlet’s story. I too, though, expected them to meet up much earlier. However, it does allow for you to get too know Scarlet and Wolf (Isn’t he great?) better. I can’t wait to see what you think of Cress. I have yet to read Cress, but i’ve heard great things! Hopefully I can get around to it soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! I got interested too and I love how intertwined Scarlet’s and Cinder’s lives were yet they didn’t know each other. I enjoyed Wolf’s character and his development. I can’t say he’s my favorite, that honor goes to Kai haha. I hope we both enjoy Cress!!

      Like

What's on Your Mind?

