The Reader Problems Book Tag

booktag

I was tagged by Christina @ Girl in the Pages to do The Reader Problems Book Tag! Make sure to stop by her blog, it’s simply amazing! Plus, she’s super nice!

1) You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

Ah! The problem that plagues all bookworms. I usually go for the one I’m feeling or the one that I’ve been anticipating most. This always tends to be the newer released novels.

2) You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

I have to commit just because I’ve never “DNF-ed” a book and I don’t ever want to. If it’s a series, I’ll wait until after I read the 2nd book before I decided to drop it all together. Never happened because I have read sequels to books I didn’t like (for the sole reason of me not wanting to DNF)

3) The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, yet so far away on your Goodreads Reading Challenge. Do you quit or commit?

I commit! Momma didn’t raise no quitter. Seriously, though. I’ll quit on some things but that Goodreads Reading Challenge is not one of them. I’ll skip sleep just to finish that challenge.

4) The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?

THIS IS MY EVEREST! It’s the hardest thing for me to get over. If it’s just any series, I won’t mind but if it’s one of my beloved, they must match. It’ll drive me insane. I will — and actually have — bought copies again just so that they matched. It might be a waste of money but I’m really OCD about it. They also either have to be all hardcover or all paperback. Hmmm, this reminds me, I have to buy the new updated hardcover for Throne of Glass, a hardcover copy of The Selection and the UK versions of The Infernal Devices.

5) Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

I log onto my Goodreads account. Look up the book. Go to the rating system and filter by the many stars that I gave it. I scroll and read through the reviews. Sometimes I comment. Sometimes I just mentally thank them for viewing it the same way I did.

6) You’re reading a book and you’re about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

This is such problem because I cry so easily — I’ve tried to change this about myself but alas I could not. Mostly, I try to avoid reading high risk books out in public haha. When I do end up crying though, I just let it out. I’ll read slower and take breaks so that I can take control of my tears haha! Just the other day I broke down and cried while reading Ruin and Rising.

7) A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find the synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?

Depending on my love of the previous book. If it’s a favorite, I will most likely reread. It not, I’ll either look up a synopsis, or just read on. Usually, I pick up things and the sequel patches up my memory.

8) You do not want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

I politely say that I don’t lend out my books to anyone and tell them what happened the last time I did. I lent my friend my copy of Twilight and she left it outside … in the rain. Hence forth and never again will I loan her a book (cause also, we’re not friends anymore — not because of that though lol). However, if it’s another avid bookworm like myself, and they treasure books as much as I do, I lend them my books — after copious amount of prayer. Ha! Just kidding – no prayers.

9) You’ve picked up and put down five books in the past month. How do you get over your slump?

Slumps are the worst thing that can happen. I usually re-read a book that I already love or just power on through a book, any book, until interest takes a hold of me.

10) There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

I buy the ones that are sequels to the books that I already love! The rest can wait a month or so haha

11) After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?

Depends on the books and how much I really want to read them. For example, I had Heir of Fire for 2-3 months before I read it but that’s because I was scared to read it and then wait a full year for the next book. As for House of HadesI read it as soon as I got it in the mail because that cliffhanger — literal and metaphorical (har, har)

My tags:

Veronica @ Talking Bookworm
Kayla @ The Thousand Lives
Melanie @ Reviews of a Self Proclaimed Bibliophile
Find Me at the Library
Chrissi @ Chrissi Reads
Ashley @ What’s She Reading?
Victoria @ Addlepates and Book Nerds
Becca @ Becca and Books
The Bookish God
Emily @ Books & Cleverness
xoxoanj

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Book Tags and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Reader Problems Book Tag

  1. hermionefowl says:

    I’ve already done this tag, but thanks anyway 🙂 How can you afford to be that picky with book covers?? I wish I could. I’d love all matching covers, but sometimes I find other ones that are too cheap to resist

    Like

    • No problem 😀 Yeah it does burn a hole in my pocket lol. I pick and choose which is worth it xD and I usually buy them when they’re on sale or if I get a gift card so that I’m not using too much of my money on books I’ve already read.

      Liked by 1 person

What's on Your Mind?

