Review: In Time (The Darkest Minds #1.5) by Alexandra Bracken

In TimeIn Time (The Darkest Minds #1.5) by Alexandra Bracken
Published: July 16, 2013
89 pages
Source/Edition: Borrowed from Megan, eBook
Summary provided by Goodreads: 

Gabe’s life has been devastated in the wake of the economic crash. The only option left for someone like him to escape his tragic past is to leave his small town behind and to attempt to become a skiptracer. This already almost impossible task is made all the more difficult by his first score, a young girl who won’t speak, but who changes his life in ways he could never imagine.

Review

3stars

feels

(Gotta love How I Met Your Mother — Barney’s my fave!)

First things first, don’t be worried about the 3 star rating. I still liked the story, it’s just that I’ve never been a fan of novellas, much less novellas from a completely new character. I didn’t read the summary of this, so I made the mistake of thinking that this novella would have Liam or  Ruby. Gabe sure was a surprise. I wasn’t expecting him and I surely was not expecting to read the novella in a skip tracer’s point of view. I loathe skip tracers! Anyway, this novella was a nice surprise.

I think I would’ve liked it better if it was written in Zu’s point of view! I’d love to see what goes through her mind. I bet it would be amazing. After he meets Zu, things start to pick up and eventually Gabe isn’t such a bad protagonist and you start feeling for him. You meet some very interesting people along the way and you find out what Liam wrote to Zu in The Darkest Minds. It was a great surprise. I was not at all prepared for that ending! It was so unexpected. I really hope that it doesn’t end there. Gabe’s character has great potential and Bracken’s writing and character development in this novella was great, too.

xoxoanj

One thought on “Review: In Time (The Darkest Minds #1.5) by Alexandra Bracken

  1. Pingback: Weekly Reads #6 | Love thy Shelf

What's on Your Mind?

