Contemporary Conversations Review: Forgotten by Cat Patrick

contemporary conversations

forgottten

Forgotten by Cat Patrick
Published: June 7th 201
304 pages
Source/Edition: Bought, Hardcover
Summary Provided by Goodreads:

Each night at precisely 4:33 am, while sixteen-year-old London Lane is asleep, her memory of that day is erased. In the morning, all she can “remember” are events from her future. London is used to relying on reminder notes and a trusted friend to get through the day, but things get complicated when a new boy at school enters the picture. Luke Henry is not someone you’d easily forget, yet try as she might, London can’t find him in her memories of things to come.

When London starts experiencing disturbing flashbacks, or flash-forwards, as the case may be, she realizes it’s time to learn about the past she keeps forgetting-before it destroys her future.

Review

5stars

This book really surprised me. I didn’t see too many good reviews on it so I was pretty hesitant to read it. This just serves as a reminder for me that I shouldn’t rely on others’ opinions, really, cause everyone is different. I absolutely enjoyed this book. The plot called to me because it reminded me of a couple of books that I’ve read before that had the similar mental disability. The romance! Oh, the romance! It was sweet and beautiful. It reminded me of 50 First Dates (great film!) London meets Luke and of course has to write about him on a note to remember him! It was so cute seeing how he made her fall for him every time!

I liked the mystery that surrounded it and why this was happening to the main character. There had to be a reason for her disability, I don’t think anyone is born that way — forgetting everything as soon as they sleep at night? Having read similar books before, I had an inkling as to what could’ve caused it. As everything and the truth all came unraveling, I couldn’t put the book down. I needed to know! It was just so insane. When everything was out in the open, I was crying like a baby even though I kind of saw it coming. It reminded me so much of another book I read (Before I Go To Sleep by S.J Watson — another great read) but it had its own kind of plot twist! The writing was great and it was an easy read.

I really liked this book because it highlighted the shortcomings of the disability. It showed the frustration of the main character and how it affected those she loved, especially those who knew the truth. The flashbacks were flawlessly written and it increased the mystery of it all.

xoxoanj

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Contemporary Conversations, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Contemporary Conversations Review: Forgotten by Cat Patrick

  1. Pingback: ContempConvos: Week 2 Wrap up and ReReads Week Intro |

  2. Now I really want to read this. It sounds so cool and something I might enjoy. 🙂

    Like

What's on Your Mind?

