Review: Shadows (Lux #0.5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

shadows

Shadows (Lux #0.5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published: February 21, 2012
179 pages
Source/Edition: Bought at BookOutlet, extra in Lux: Opposition
Summary Provided by Goodreads:

The last thing Dawson Black expected was Bethany Williams. As a Luxen, an alien life form on Earth, human girls are…well, fun. But since the Luxen have to keep their true identities a secret, falling for one would be insane.

Dangerous. Tempting. Undeniable.

Bethany can’t deny the immediate connection between her and Dawson. And even though boys aren’t a complication she wants, she can’t stay away from him. Still, whenever they lock eyes, she’s drawn in.

Captivated. Lured. Loved.

Dawson is keeping a secret that will change her existence…and put her life in jeopardy. But even he can’t stop risking everything for one human girl. Or from a fate that is as unavoidable as love itself.

My Review

2stars

This really breaks my heart, having to give this novella 2 stars but it must be done. Okay, I slept on this just to make sure that my rating was honest. I don’t usually — ever– rate books this low, so it has to be really bad for me to do so and when it’s bad, oh it’s bad. So bad, that I will most likely rant. I’m just so mad because I love this series and this just disappointed me to no end. This novella — sorry for being harsh– is the epitome of boring. Love story: boring. Dawson Black: boring. (Elizabeth?) Bethany Williams: boring. Action: boring. I just can’t believe or accept that this came from the same author or that it’s from the same series. I felt like I wasted a good 2 hours going through this. It was a short book, why did it take me two hours? Cause I couldn’t: a) stand it b) stay awake c) stay interested. Let me explain. Beware! There will be spoilers after the gif for Shadows, Obsidian, and Onyx.

mad hades

I read this after finishing the series. Maybe that affected it, maybe it didn’t (I don’t really think so). By that point, I already knew the gist of Dawson’s and Bethany’s past. We already knew they fell in love, that he healed her, that they “died”, and that they were taken to Daedalus . I thought that there would be more insight into everything. Yes, we finally learned what happened when Dawson healed her but it was very anticlimactic, again, boring.

Along with that, I already created this image of Dawson and Beth. I envisioned and saw them as this amazing duo kickbutt fighters, with great lively personalities. However, I felt like it was the complete opposite. Beth wasn’t the bada** character I thought she’d be. I felt like she barely stood up for herself. Dawson, this surprised me, was such a girl, a pansy! I loved him so much in the other books because you only see how much he’s willing to get Beth back and protect her but his mushy, lovey-dovey side was absolutely cringe-worthy. He was a girl with a penis, really. Sorry about that. I really am because like I said, I loved Dawson and he was actually one of my favorites. Now … not so much.

The love story was very reminiscent of Daemon’s and Katy’s. Seriously, I felt like I was reading an alternate universe version of Obsidian. Beth was new girl like Katy and quickly caught the attention of one of the Black brothers. Then, Dawson was considering if he should really date her, everyone going against the relationship and insulting her, the whole shebang. I might as well just have reread Obsidian — I would’ve loved that, too. Of course, it wasn’t an exact replica. Unlike Daemon’s and Katy’s, this was instalove– excuse me while I throw up. There was no build up to their relationship. It was like one date, one long phone call, kiss, and I love you. Well then, if that’s all it takes for love to happen, sign me up! — note the sarcasm there.

Not only was that instalove atrocious, it was far from believable. I just couldn’t, with any part of my brain or heart, believe that this was an intense, deep, trusting, passionate, lasting love. Bethany finds out her boyfriend is an alien and she nods and pretty much says, “cool story bro”. No complaints, no apprehension, just complete acceptance. Not even a little doubt or say that he’s crazy or that she was dreaming/imagining things. Absolutely not! Plus, you’re together for a couple of months, at most, and they were both ready and okay to sacrifice their lives and their families’ lives for each other. Then they went through the experiments with Daedalus, their relationship barely represents the strong love that could overcome such harsh circumstances and that they just easily accepted going through it for each other. Throw me a freaking bone here!

Now before you say, “Well, Daemon put Katy first, too”. I never said that Daemon never put Katy first, because of course he did. He’s completely, unconditionally, and irrevocably in love with her (yay for adverbs!). I mean, he would literally worship the ground she walks on — okay, maybe not literally. The only difference is that, they were together for a while before he was willing to put Katy over Dee. Dawson, on the other hand, was okay with the consequences and how it would negatively affect Daemon and Dee. Even when Daemon, gave him a semi-ultimatum between Beth and his siblings, Dawson, without skipping a beat, picked Beth. So much for the Luxen valuing family over everything right? At least with Daemon, in the beginning, did everything he could to protect Dee. Even when Katy was in the picture, Dee was always a consideration in Daemon’s actions. Is that too much to ask from Dawson? Apparently, so. I’m very loyal to my family and I would do absolutely anything for them, and it just angers me when people say the same but then they have complete disregard when push comes to shove.

Why I didn’t give it one star? Well, you can thank Daemon and Dee. They were the only parts the I enjoyed in the book. You get to see the depth of Dee’s and Dawson’s relationship. You get to experience the pain that Daemon and Dee went through when they found out about their brother’s death. It also explains Daemon’s hatred towards humans — and by extension Katy. It explains (not necessarily excuses) his treatment of her in the beginning of Obsidian. I also liked the parts with Adam. I really liked him in Onyx and I felt that he was taken away from us too soon! I think that I shall leave this review on a good note and end it here.

xoxoanj

2 thoughts on “Review: Shadows (Lux #0.5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Pingback: Weekly Reads | Love Thy Shelf

  2. Pingback: Review: Oblivion (Lux #1.5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout – Love thy Shelf

What's on Your Mind?

