Review: Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

obsidian

Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published: May 8, 2012
335 pages
Source/Edition: Bought at Wal-Mart, Paperback
Summary provided by Goodreads:

Starting over sucks. When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up. And then he opened his mouth. Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens. The hot alien living next door marks me. You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. If I don’t kill him first, that is.

My Review:

4starsI’ll be honest with you, I put off reading this book for a long time. Too many people kept telling me to read it and stubborn as I am, I refused. However, I did make a deal with my best friend, Veronica, that I’d read Obsidian if she read Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas. So now we’re here. Because I don’t like it when people tell me what to do, I kept looking for things in the book that I didn’t like — my very feeble form of resistance. I had initially given the book 3 stars while I was reading it, still relenting and not wanting to give in (see, stubborn). I can’t deny that it didn’t suck me right in, though. Fictional guys like Daemon tend to do that to you. He did infuriate me sometimes but not as much as Kat. Here’s a guy openly insulting and being rude to you, yet you keep vying for his attention. Now I can’t say I wouldn’t have acted the same way if I was in her situation– who knows?

Once she finds out what Daemon really is, the book really starts to pick up. Like with any typical guy, in my opinion, he was sending the worst kinds of mixed signals and it was so aggravating because you want something to happen already. There was definitely a lot of tension in this book. There was also a lot of laughs. The chemistry between Kat and Daemon is very tangible and their jabs at each other made the book even better. Kat was a great female lead, even though I didn’t agree with how she acted sometimes. She’s smart, grounded, and very loyal. Plus, she reads! I love that she was a bookworm. It made her even more relatable! In the end, I settled with the 4 stars because those final chapters got me on the edge of my seat and, can you believe it, it made me cry! I was surprised, too. I’m excited to see where Onyx takes us from here.

xoxoanj

3 thoughts on “Review: Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Pingback: Review: Oblivion (Lux #1.5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout – Love thy Shelf

What's on Your Mind?

