Review: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

harry potter week

order of the phoenix

Harry Potter & the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling
Published: June 21, 2003
870 pages
Source/Edition: Bought at Amazon, Special Edition Paperback
Summary provided by Goodreads:

Harry Potter is due to start his fifth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. His best friends Ron and Hermione have been very secretive all summer and he is desperate to get back to school and find out what has been going on. However, what Harry discovers is far more devastating than he could ever have expected…

Suspense, secrets and thrilling action from the pen of J.K. Rowling ensure an electrifying adventure that is impossible to put down.

My Review

5stars

Oh, this was so exciting. It was also the saddest one for me, for one main reason. If you’ve read the book and my blog, then you’d know why. But before we get to those details, let’s start at the beginning. I really liked this book. It had so many events occurring and it was exciting right from the start. It picks up even more once we get to Hogwarts and a new [evil] professor for Defense Against the Dark Arts is introduced. I felt so bad for Harry here! Not only does he face the guilt and despair of Cedric’s death and Voldemort’s “resurrection,” no one believes him! It was so infuriating and I wanted to punch everyone for not wanting to take action. They all wanted to play pretend and be ignorant, as if it will protect them from the dark lord. I hated the Slytherin house even more here but that’ll never change for me. I was also upset with Snape here because I feel like he let his history with James Potter affect his actions with Harry. Finally, that ending. It killed me! I was crying and it took me forever to finish reading it. I couldn’t believe it! I didn’t want to believe. I thought you know, it wasn’t real. Harry will wake up or it didn’t really happen. It was extremely heartbreaking at the end where the Order came to Harry’s defense when Uncle Vernon picked him up. Before reading the film review, please be warned that there will be major spoilers!

order of the phoenix

The film was fantastic. I’d give it 5 stars as well. While none the movies haven’t adapted an exact, detailed replica of the books, I felt like this movie really felt short of that. All of the cutting of characters from previous films finally caught up to this one. My main issue was that they cut out a lot of Sirius’s scenes in the film that his importance in Harry’s life was quite diminished in this film. Those who just watched the movies understand that he’s the godfather but they fail to see the close father/brother-type relationship that they fostered in the books. Because of this, Sirius’s death was very anti-climactic, eliciting little to no emotion. I was looking forward to how filmmakers we’re going to make the scene but I was disappointed in it. I did like, however, Radcliffe’s acting when it happened. The silence of that scene was very dramatic and Lupin holding Radcliffe back was very touching. I also liked how they extended the scene of Voldemort’s possession of Harry, adding Harry’s love for his friends.

xoxoanj

What's on Your Mind?

