Review: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

harry potter week

Goblet of FireHarry Potter & the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling
Published: July 8, 2000
734 pages
Source/Edition: Bought at Amazon, Special Edition Paperback
Summary provided by Goodreads:

The summer holidays are dragging on and Harry Potter can’t wait for the start of the school year. It is his fourth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry and there are spells to be learnt and (unluckily) Potions and Divination lessons to be attended. But Harry can’t know that the atmosphere is darkening around him, and his worst enemy is preparing a fate that it seems will be inescapable …With characteristic wit, fast-paced humour and marvellous emotional depth, J.K. Rowling has proved herself yet again to be a master story-teller

My Review

4stars

J.K. Rowling does it again with Goblet of Fire. This one was so exciting with the Triwizard Competition and with the addition of new characters, specifically another new Defense of the Dark Arts teacher Mad-Eye Moody! I loved how Harry uses his godfather’s (Sirius!) “criminal background” to scare is aunt and uncle into letting him do pretty much what he wants! Awesome thinking, Harry! I truly enjoyed the book but I feel like I couldn’t give it a 5 because I didn’t love it as much as I loved Prisoner of Azkaban. I missed Lupin here and I wish Sirius had a bigger presence but seeing his predicament, it was understandable. I loved how he always tried to be there for Harry, even at the risk of being caught by dementors! I seriously love Sirius (pretty corny I know haha). Having the Triwizard competition at Hogwarts introduced us to other magical schools and more information on the Dark Lord’s first “reign”. That plot twist in the end totally surprised me and I didn’t see it coming at all! It was a great ending and pretty sad!

Goblet of Fire

Okay! I loved this film! I think I’d give it 5 stars, as well. I loved the portrayal of all the Triwizard events, even though they’ve changed some things. It made everything so exciting and so much fun. Like with all the previous movies, it showed the main points of the book and led to the same ending, but with less detail. Unfortunately, it’s the little details that I love so much. I loved all the Sirius/Harry communication and letters (Snuffles!) in the book and I was so sad that it was cut from the movie. I understand due to time constraints but it lessened the importance of Sirius’s character in the film.

xoxoanj

2 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

What's on Your Mind?

