Top Ten Things I Like/Dislike When it Comes to Romances in Books

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme brought to us by the wonderful bloggers from The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is the Top Ten Things I Like/Dislike When it Comes to Romances in Books. I will be doing 5 of each since I don’t think I could come up with 10 dislikes or 10 likes.

Top Five Things I Like When it Comes to Romances in Books:
  1. Best Friend to Soulmate: this is probably my favorite kind, where the couple grows as friends and they later develop these feelings for each other! (It’s kind of a dream, really!)
  2. Love Triangles: as much as I hate it because of all the feelings, they’re kind of fun to read. A lot of drama is involved as well, and that’s the favorite kind haha
  3. Bad boy & good girl: I love when there’s a bad boy involved, especially those who are really good guys! I love how they change to be a better person once they meet the good girl.
  4. Star-crossed lovers: While I didn’t like Romeo & Juliet, I do love that “we-can’t-be-together” romance, especially if in the end, they persevere.
  5. Be Still My Heart: this is when the romance just gives me way too many feels and leaves me crippled on an emotional roller coaster ride. I love the details and the corniness and just everything!
Top Five Things I Dislike When it Comes to Romances in Books:
  1. Sex Scenes: I’m all for the love scenes but I don’t like it when they go over the top. I don’t need that much detail, no thank you.
  2. Dropping off the Face of the Earth: This is when the character gets a boyfriend and suddenly nothing else exists. They drop their friends and family and their priority is their boyfriend/girlfriend!
  3. Dependence: the “I can’t live without them” idea rubs me the wrong way. I get that you love them but you have to lead your own life, as well.
  4. Death: Don’t you just hate with when you have a ship and the author kills of one of them? Enough said.
  5. How did that Happen?: There are some characters that make me wonder why they stay with their boyfriend/girlfriend when they treat them so horribly. I’ll never understand that.

What do you like or dislike about the romance in books? Is there some of my likes/dislikes that you agree with it?

xoxoanj

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Top Ten Things I Like/Dislike When it Comes to Romances in Books

  1. Nice list of turn ons and turn offs for romance in novels. Heres my link for my TTT post this week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2015/02/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-things-i.html

    Like

  2. christine says:

    I can’t live without them sounds annoying I hate it when that happens.

    My Top Ten Tuesday!

    Like

  3. ChrissiReads says:

    I hate it when an author kills one of my favourites! I have to admit, I find love triangles frustrating to read, but it would be boring if we all liked the same things!

    Like

    • Haha isn’t that just the worst? Especially when the love story was written so beautifully and perfectly and then one of them dies ugh! Haha that’s okay, I know a lot of people who hate love triangles. I usually like them but sometimes, if written poorly, I get frustrated with them.

      Like

  4. Totally agree with the dependence/drop off the face of the earth one. I also love the bad boy/good girl novel, but I hate it when the boy just really is a bad boy and I really dislike him and then suddenly turns good in an unrealistic way. Great picks!

    here’s mine

    Like

  5. Courtney Ann says:

    I have similar views. Not really a big fan on the love triangle, but I can enjoy a good story that has one as long as the focus doesn’t linger too much on the wishy-washy romance between three people.

    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday
    Courtney @ Storybook Slayers

    Like

What's on Your Mind?

