Review: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

harry potter week

prisoner of azkabanHarry Potter & the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling
Published: July 8, 1999
435 pages
Source/Edition: Bought at Amazon, Special Edition Paperback
Summary provided by Goodreads:

Harry Potter is lucky to reach the age of thirteen, since he has already survived the murderous attacks of the feared Dark Lord on more than one occasion. But his hopes for a quiet term concentrating on Quidditch are dashed when a maniacal mass-murderer escapes from Azkaban, pursued by the soul-sucking Dementors who guard the prison. It’s assumed that Hogwarts is the safest place for Harry to be. But is it a coincidence that he can feel eyes watching him in the dark, and should he be taking Professor Trelawney’s ghoulish predictions seriously?

My Review

5stars

I am so excited about this review because Prisoner of Azkaban is my absolute favorite book in the entire series. If you don’t know already, Sirius Black is my favorite and this book is when we first meet him. Right off the bat, he was questionable. He did just break out of prison. I love the introduction of new characters, especially Sirius and Professor Lupin. Lupin was also questionable for me. I didn’t know whether to trust him or not but I still enjoyed his character. You could tell that he was hiding something but his qualities as a teacher just made me want to trust him. I also felt that this book upped its game and added more action! I definitely felt that it was an improvement from the first 2 books, finally adding the missing pieces to complete the 5 star rating. In this book, you also get to know more about Harry’s parents and their deaths! I just love this one so much!

hp-prisoner of azkaban

As for the film, I would give it 5 stars as well. I looked into and saw that it was the least liked film! I don’t understand. Well, I guess I do if you compare it to the book. If it was being compared to the book, I’d say it would have rated a 3 or 3.5 stars. I just enjoyed seeing it come alive and how Sirius and Remus were portrayed. I will complain, though, that they missed out on so much information in the movie, potentially creating errors in continuity in future films. It also lessened the impact of the final scene in the Shrieking Shack. Overall, I still enjoyed it. I actually just re-watched it and seeing Sirius again just made me tear up!

xoxoanj

About Anjie @ Love thy Shelf

Hello there -- call me Anjie! I made this book blog where I can put down all my bookish ramblings and talk to those who have the same interests!
This entry was posted in Harry Potter Week, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Books I’ve Read so Far in 2015 | Love thy Shelf

  2. YAS! This is the last HP book I reread back in November and I can’t wait to reread the next one 🙂 Loved the review 🙂

    Like

What's on Your Mind?

