Review: Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas
Published: August 27, 2013
418 pages 
Source/Edition: Bought at Books-A-Million, Hardcover
Summary provided by Goodreads: 

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil. Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer.

It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart. Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie…and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

My Review: 

5stars

It took me a while to put all my thoughts into this semi-coherent review. It also took me a while to get to this book after reading Throne of Glass because I read some spoilers … that I did not like. I eventually read it, obviously, and I still loved it! It was just as thrilling to read Crown of Midnight as it was to read Throne of Glass. I enjoyed the novel even though I didn’t agree with some of the plot, but that’s just me being picky and biased towards certain characters *cough* Dorian *cough*. Celaena is just as amazing here! She’s still a great female character to look up to. I’ve got to say, though, that this book is definitely heartbreaking and you (or Celaena, really) will experience tragedy, loss, and betrayal.

**Spoilers ahead if you haven’t read Throne of Glass or Crown of Midnight**

This is most likely a very unpopular opinion, especially seeing how popular the Celaena/Chaol ship is *rolls eyes* (no offense, at all). I was very angry and annoyed at two very important characters: Celaena and Chaol. I love Celaena very much and with her, I’m just annoyed with but Chaol is whole other story. I’m a huge Dorian/Celaena shipper, if you couldn’t tell. I thought that they had such great chemistry in the first book and I hated that they broke things off. I wanted to see their relationship take off and go deeper than, and not just scratching the surface.

I understand Celaena not wanting to be tied down while being the champion and her freedom, I get it, believe me I do. What I don’t understand is how her and Chaol pretty much ignore the way Dorian feels. I know it’s not their responsibility but at least give him time to move on, don’t avoid him and so on! Even worse, Dorian finds out he has magic and it is incredibly sad that he felt like he had no one to go to talk about it. His “best friend” and captain of the guard was never there for him anymore (other than for protection). Chao further pissed me off when, you know, he didn’t tell Celaena about the assassination plot for Nehemiah.

Overall, I loved this book as well! While I didn’t like and disagreed with certain parts of the plot, it didn’t lessen that spectacular writing and characterization of the novel. Sarah J. Maas does it again!

xoxoanj

6 thoughts on “Review: Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: Throne of Glass: Dorian & Celaena | Love thy Shelf

  2. Pingback: Review: Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) by Sarah J. Maas | Love thy Shelf

  3. Pingback: Review (1 of 2): Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) by Sarah J. Maas | Love thy Shelf

  4. Pingback: Review (2 of 2): Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) by Sarah J. Maas | Love thy Shelf

What's on Your Mind?

